Skip to content

New 4-mile PR

June 19, 2008
tags: ,

Didn’t want to go running. Ignored Runner’s Commandment #7. And #1. Instead, got up and did some work on the computer. When G realized I hadn’t gone running, he pushed me out the door–it was nearly 8. Of course, we had to leave the house at 9:15, so I didn’t have a lot of time, but he encouraged me to go out and do a few quick miles, and I thought I would.

Did a quick four. And set a new personal record for the distance! My splits: 9:35, 9:09, 8:43, 8:32. Total run time 36:01. Yay for me! I hate short runs. I feel like they don’t count, unless they’re hard and fast. So now at least I feel like this one counted!

Modified to add: Wait! It gets better! Subtract the first mile–9:35–from the total run time of 36:01 and you know what you get? The closest I’ve ever come to beating my PR of 26:18 for a 5k: 26:26. If I’d been in a race I would have sprinted and beat my time. Finally! I’ve been training to improve my 5k since I ran my half and it felt like it was getting farther away instead of closer. Finally there’s hope! Now, when’s the next scheduled 5k in this town?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

