Skip to content

Time for a Check-Up

July 31, 2008

Runner’s Lounge Take It and Run Thursday theme is Look Back, Look Ahead. In celebration of the mid-year date, running bloggers everywhere are taking stock of their goals and asking, How’m I doin’?

So, How’m I doin’?

Well, at the beginning of the year, my goals were to finish my first half marathon, to improve my 5- and 10k times, and to become a stronger runner. Simple goals, really. I’ve achieved the easy ones: I completed my first half, in a time much better than I expected. Though I’ve run a handful of 5ks, I have yet to improve upon my first time, and I haven’t run another 10k yet, though I regularly outrun 6.2 on my daily easy runs. Yes, I think I am a stronger runner.

What is going well? I’ve figured some things out. Though at the beginning of summer it was tough to run through the heat and humidity, and some early summer races and long runs even ended in migraines, I think I’ve mostly worked those issues out. I’m starting to get better about listening to my legs and knees and knowing when to scratch a run or cut it short.

What do I need to do better at in the sunset half of the year? I need to go easier on myself. I am a rookie runner. I don’t need to go all out. I don’t need to run my first marathon for time. Every training run is not a race or a bragging story. I need to believe in the long-term benefits of training more than the short-term benefits of a good, tough run. I need to get more sleep and make better eating choices. I need to believe that I’m not doomed to have my PR be my first race at every distance. That sub-2 half is in the bag.

Isn’t it?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2008 8:05 am

    This is a great post. You should be happy just about the fact that you’ve started running at all. The rest is like a happy bonus. And let me tell you, no matter what the time is on the clock, finishing your first marathon is amazing.

  2. the Runner permalink
    August 1, 2008 3:27 pm

    Thanks, Betsy. So I’ve heard, and I hope to find out what all the raves are about. Could it be . . . me . . . . a marathoner?

Leave a Reply

