Skip to content

Fay’s Gonna Mess Up My Training . . .

August 18, 2008

. . . but probably not my house. I’m thankful for that. First hurricane to really make us turn to the Weather Channel this year (we’re thankful to have had some quiet seasons after Florida’s Year of Fear that was the 2004 season), and it’s not really coming near us. It did make the easterly turn sooner than we would have liked, so now it’s making landfall closer to our family rather than on the panhandle, which would have been personally preferable for us. However, our county is out of the cone of error, and we know the storm won’t make landfall anywhere near us.

However . . . darn if it’s not bringing plenty of miserable weather: rain in buckets and lots of gusty winds. We felt the first bands of it last night. I checked the radar, as is my custom, before I set out for my 8-miler this morning. Looked clear. They promised the worst of the weather here would be felt overnight tonight through tomorrow. So, I went out for three loops of my “Floridians call these hills” 2.75-mi course. Flashes of lightning started in distant cloud clusters at mile 4. Thought of cutting the run short at the 5.5-mile mark, but as the sun was starting to come up by now, I thought I’d take a gamble that the storm was still far enough away–I still hadn’t heard any thunder. Finished the 8.5 with no trouble (got soaked running errands with the kids, but that’s a story for another day, or at least another blog).

But . . . from the looks of things, there will be no running tomorrow, or at least no outdoor running. Ugh. It’s amazing to me that I used to put all my miles on the treadmill. ‘Cause I’m sure dreading it now.

No comments yet

Leave a comment