Skip to content

Molasses

September 13, 2008
tags: ,

n. pl. molasses. A thick syrup produced in refining raw sugar and ranging from light to dark brown in color. (Retrieved September 13, 2008, from Dictionary.com website: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/molasses).

This has been my pace this week. I’m not sure why. It’s a cutback week, so I should be fresh from the easier, shorter runs and no speedwork. Instead, I’m can’t seem to stay above an average 10min pace, even on the short six-milers, with no easy explanation. I’m not sic, not particularly short on sleep, not . . . um . . . on a bad week. Just off. I guess I should be thankful that this “off” week came on a cutback week. At least I don’t have to slog through something like this on a week when I have a long run planned. And yes, I got passed this week like I was standing still.

Ran 6 on Monday. Took Tuesday off as Ike passed to our south–the winds were predicted to be strongest for us on this day and I’m just tired of running in strong winds. Was forced to take Wednesday off with a sick kid as running with the littles in the stroller in 90+ temps for over an hour seems near inhuman. Did 9 on Thursday, 6 on Friday, and discovered that taking Tuesday off had not, actually, been as brilliant the move as I had planned–I was still running in winds that gusted between 15 and 20mph. (I know, Florida runners are weenies.) Took today off. Planning 9 tomorrow, 7 of them with Sarah.

Back to a regular training week on Monday. As all existing tropical systems have passed, thank God!, I hope to run in stiller air starting next week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

