Skip to content

Tapering

October 8, 2008

That’s right. I’m supposed to be tapering for the WW Half Marathon.

With that in mind, I pushed my speedwork up to Tuesday, running four miles at goal half marathon pace. Didn’t feel quite as easy as I had hoped, unfortunately. However, I was encouraged that even as tired as I was, though I felt like I was struggling to hold that pace at or below 9-minute miles, when I pushed for that last mile, I was able to get an 8:08 pace. I’m trying to teach my body to run tired, to find the energy in adverse conditions, and I hope it will pay off.

Took today off. Plan to run an easy four tomorrow, take Friday off, and run my 13.1 under two hours on Saturday. My strategy: to start at a 9:30, 9:20 pace and pick it up in the first miles until I settle into a 9:10-9-minute pace, then try to push it, if I’m strong enough, at the 10-mile mark, letting it all hang out at the 12-mile mark. Even if I hold no better than a 9:10 pace for the first twelve miles, my kick should be able to bring me in under 2 hours, though I’d prefer not to have to rely on it.

That’s the plan, anyway.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

