Skip to content

It’s the Final Countdown

November 9, 2008
tags:

Oh, please don’t even pretend you don’t remember that song, complete with guitar riffs. You’re singing it right now.

But, in all seriousness, this is it: race day is now six days out, and, as my friend over on RunningAhead says, all the training is now in the bank. It’s taper week now, and the latest training plan I looked at calls for a week, starting today, of rest-rest-4-4-6-4-rest-race.

I’m excited. I’m trusting my training. I think I’ve trained as well as I possibly could, and though I goofed on a few things here and there, I don’t think it’s things that will break me on race day. Everything that is left now is things out of my control: will race day dawn cool and comfortable or hot and humid? Rain is forecast on that day: will it rain as we’re coming onto mile 5 or hold off until lunch?

Not much to do now but eat well, hydrate, and not deviate from the plan by running more miles than necessary this week, or running the short runs too fast. It’s about being smart now.

I have my packet in hand: bib, d-timing chip, race shirt.

Final countdown.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

