Skip to content

My Final Four

November 14, 2008
tags: ,

Last pre-race run: four easy miles. Ran them in my skirt, wanting to feel strong and beautiful and like running is my second nature. It is warm in South Florida this week, but I ran negative splits and felt good as I begin the last preparations for this race.

It’s amazing how you can build something up in your mind. It’s just 13.1 miles, but I’ve been training for this for so long that I want it very badly. I can’t wait to lace up the shoes and get down to the starting line. The start of my last half still makes my heart smile: all those runners pounding the pavement together in the predawn darkness, all setting out to cover miles and miles.

No pacers this time; a smallish, inaugural race might mean we’re working out some kinks. I’ll try to remember all the details.

One of my closest running buds is running Rock and Roll San Antonio this weekend: May you have wings on your feet, G! I’ll be running with you in mind, knowing you’re well ahead of me in pace, and praying your 26.2 is the race of a lifetime.

I’m right in the middle of picking out my own 26.2. It’s time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    November 15, 2008 10:57 pm

    I’ve been praying all day…a sick kiddo has kept me away from the phone to call. Hope everything went better than you expected, I can’t wait to hear!

Leave a Reply

