Skip to content

2008 Wrap-Up

January 2, 2009
tags:

2008milesAccording to my log at RunningAHEAD, I ran 1533 miles in 2008. That’s the equivalent, roughly, of running from Miami to Concord, New Hampshire (New Hampshire?*)

I don’t say that to toot my own horn. Plenty of runners would scoff at that total, and no one runner should look at any runner’s mileage, pace, or PR as a measuring stick for his or her own efforts. That’s how I’m using that number: as a measuring stick for my own efforts. That’s a lot of miles for me, and I’m proud of myself for that, for balancing runinng with the rest of my life, and most of all, for not quitting.

december-20081As you can see, we spent over $280 on the shoes I wore from February to December (I started the year in a pair of Nikes that died at the finish line of my first half marathon). I got an average of 300 miles out of each pair. The first pair of Nikes was the shortest lived; I was out of them initially at about 260 miles but rotated them back in for short runs after that. The August pairs were bought at the same time to try rotating two models of shoes. As you can see, I got less miles out of the Adrenalines, but more miles out of the Nikes. Maybe I’ll be able to put them both back in for short runs? The August Nikes actually show much more wear than the February ones.

*What, you’ve never seen What About Bob? Get thee to Netflix! It’s a classic!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 6:10 am

    It really is ridiculous how much we spend on shoes, isn’t it? I missed the What About Bob reference, though. My brain must be too tired this morning. Baby steps…

Leave a Reply

