Skip to content

Happy New Year!

January 2, 2009

So, good news: the doc says there’s no injury. I described the pain, described my training to date, and, in his words, my problem isn’t my gait, though I do hit hard on my left heel, or my twingy knees, but, in his words, “what’s under [my] hat.”

In other words, I’m just trying to do too much.

Honestly, I knew that.

I came out of the 13.1 Fort Lauderdale and took, what, two days off, maybe one? I knew I came out of that race feeling really good, but still, I put in a lot of heavy mileage for that race, and a lot of really fast speedwork.

Two weeks after the race I was running an eighteen miler, my first. A week later, a PR-busting 5k, at a really fast pace, for me. I mean, at a pace that during my summer training was considered really good for a mile repeat. A week after that, a 19-miler. Followed that up the following Saturday with another hard race effort–a 10k this time. And then the following week, my first 20. No wonder my legs rebelled. All this on shoes that had over 300 miles apiece. My shoes have never given me more than 300 miles before–250 for my Nikes.

So, let’s recap. In six weeks I set PRs in three distances, lowering my pace at each one by about a minute. In the intervening weeks I ran long runs of 18 miles, 19 miles, and 20 miles. If I’m not injured, I ought to be.

He says it’s not ITBS. He x-rayed the knee to make sure he didn’t miss anything but gave approval to my continuing to train for the marathon–if I use common sense this time. No more racing between long runs. On the weeks between 20s, long runs are to be easy–easy as in 12, not 16.

This week, very short mileage as the shoes are shot and so are the legs. Off on Monday, 4 on Tuesday, 4.5 Wednesday, off Thursday, 8 today.

wave-inspire-51The 8 today was due to a little New Year’s Day shopping. Found Adrenalines online (and went ahead and ordered them) but couldn’t for the life of me find my favorite Nikes for any lower than retail–so I figured I might as well go to a brick-and-mortar and pay retail. Well, wouldn’t you know it, my brick-and-mortar didn’t have it in my size. I figured I might as well have a third model of shoe that I can rotate in, so I tried a few more shoes on.

Tried the Adidas Cushion, the New Balance 1224, and the Mizuno Wave Inspires. Now, the New Balances are fantastic–probably the ones that I liked as much as the Nikes as far as cushiony yuminess. But at $140 a pair, I just can’t justify the cost.

So, my eight-miler today was run in my first pair of Mizunos. I liked them. Cushiony enough, and very light. I’m liking the red, white, and blue color pattern, too. I’ll report more on them as I put more miles on them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

