Skip to content

On my doorstep: Adrenaline GTS 8s!

January 8, 2009

adrenaline-8When the Monkey and I got home from our Bible study yesterday, noon-ish, awaiting on my doorstep was a lovely box from Holabird Sports*. Inside, my first pair of Adrenalines 8. I’ve worn a few pairs of 7s. Having tried the 8s in the store and not liked them, I was extremely nervous about running in the 8s, but I finally got to the point where I couldn’t find the 7s in my size online. I finally thought, How bad could it be?

They were beautiful, and immediately after putting lunch in front of my Monkey, I put them on–yes, with the brown corduroy skirt I’d worn that day. I was just so nervous about the fit that I wanted to work out any kinks before this morning’s run. So I walked around in Thorlos and Adrenalines for a few hours that afternoon.

First thing I noticed–heel’s a lot stiffer than in the 7s. Uncomfortably so. But I have OTC cushioning heel cups, so I stuck those in. Instant improvement. Next up, the part of the shoe that hits just under my ankle, where the laces are, feels pokey. Sorry, I can’t express that better. It’s just very uncomfortable. And as it is, I have a bruise there already on my left leg due to who knows what. So I unlaced down one hole. Now this means I have to leave the bunny ears fairly long or suffer with the laces hitting the ground on every stride, but that’s far from tragic. I thought my heel might slip from the heel cup, but that didn’t happen.

Instead, I had my best run in weeks. Negative splits. 9:20 pace. No music, either. For the first time in . . . well, forever, I felt like a real runner. I just felt like myself again. I needed a day like this before I tried that 20-miler on the schedule Saturday.

And I think I might try those heel cups in the Mizunos, just for fun.

*Five starts for customer service for Holabird Sports. I only paid $64.95 for the shoes, ordered online on New Year’s Day, of all days. They were shipped out of their warehouse the following day, at no cost to me, and arrived at my house, in Florida, on January 7 (their website puts their physical location at Baltimore, Maryland). Fantastic. I also reached a person on my first attempt when I called to confirm my order, and she not only pulled up my order and confirmed that it had shipped but even gave me advice, reminding me to wear the shoes on at least one short run before setting out in them on my first 20-miler. Thanks, Mary, wherever you are.

**Highlights from yesterday’s playlist, just because I enjoyed these so much (all the links are to the iTunes store):

Blue Bird Tattoo, by Circe Link, from “More Songs!”

Real Gone, by Sheryl Crow, from the Cars soundtrack

Sunday Morning, by No Doubt, from “Tragic Kingdom”

I’ve Got a Lovely Bunch of Coconuts, by Merv Griffin, from “More Vintage Children’s Favorites”

I Wan’na Be Like You, by Louis Prima, from the Jungle Book soundtrack

Jackson, by Joaquin Phonix & Reese Witherspoon, from the Walk the Line soundtrack

also, the “There’s Power in the Blood” rendition from the kids’ VBS program, which isn’t available on iTunes. You can see the video on YouTube, if you’re so inclined. It’s a great upbeat version of a traditional hymn, and helped me remember that even if I had to walk home, I have all the power I need to be God-pleasing, Christ-serving!

Yes, the playlist does lean heavily toward children’s music. What can I tell you? I’m a stay at home mom.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. critterkeeper permalink
    January 8, 2009 7:41 pm

    Love your blogsite. It reminds me so much of myself. The critters, faith and running! Great combo if I do say so myself. I have used Holabird before too and loved them. I usually try to find a pair I like from my local running store and then in 30 days when I am sure that I love the shoes, I will order more from Holabird. I also run with heel cups in Mizunos. Too funny! I hope you have great success in your marathon! The phrase I like to repeat to myself when I am running outside in terrible weather and people are looking at me like I am crazy is “If this were easy, everyone would be doing it.” That has pushed me through some tough spots on training runs. Again…I love your blog…so many parallels to my own life! Keep up the great work!
    http://critterkeeper.wordpress.com

  2. the Zookeeper permalink*
    January 8, 2009 7:56 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement! I was on your blog for just a few minutes and you’re right–we are two peas in a pod! I’m sorry about your HRM . . . but I’m glad your pup’s okay!

    Thanks for letting me know I’m not the only one out there balancing faith and running. In Christ, I can do all things!

  3. January 17, 2009 8:38 pm

    I have used Holabird Sports for a couple of years myself. They are really good. You might try looking at Sierra Trading Post for the Adrenaline 7’s (http://www.sierratradingpost.com). Personally, I find the Adrenalines too stiff and they don’t last long enough for me but Sierra Trading Post seems to have a number of previous models of running shoes available. I like Etonic Jepara SC (not the newer Jepara 2) and recently found them at Sierra TP.

    If you’re interested, I posted, on my blog, a review of the Jepara that I did for Sierra TP (http://bobruns.blogspot.com/2009/01/my-review-of-etonic-jepara-running.html).

  4. the Zookeeper permalink*
    January 19, 2009 11:42 am

    Thanks for the tip; I’ll look at STP again. I’ve never tried Etonic but I’m definitely up for trying a new model of shoe, and stiffness has been my strike against the Adrenaline, mildly in the 7 and even more so in the 8. I’m off to read your review, and thanks again; it’s always other runners who give me the best information!

Leave a Reply

