Skip to content

long tempo run

January 31, 2009

Set out on my long run today with one of my favorite running friends. She’s faster than I am,* so I know when I set out to run with her that I’m in for a good workout. We had 12 on the schedule for today.

It dawned cold today in southeastern Florida, friends. Once you factored in the wind, it felt like it was in the upper 30s. Hey, that’s cold to us. I had on a long-sleeve top and had brought one to change into for our after-run hot chocolate (every long run deserves a treat), but decided to wear both for the run–and boy, am I glad I did. In fact, I wished I’d brought along the gloves I picked up at Target for 50 cents the other day–hasten there, Florida friends, if you need a cheap pair of gloves for the next time the temps here hit 30 degrees–apparently that will be Wednesday night.

But I digress. We ran through our neighborhood and, uh, neighboring areas, ducking in and out of planned developments, to get in our miles. Gwendolyn (I changed her name to protect the innocent!) is a master of planning our runs, and we hit the water fountains by the tennis courts at exactly six and a half miles. We blazed back out before we could get too cool.

When we finished the run, we had our promised hot chocolate. Delish.

Our splits: 9:31, 9:06, 9:02, 9:14, 9:06, 9:05, 8:38, 8:33, 8:37, 8:30, 8:40, 8:31. If we’d held that pace to complete a half marathon, it would have been my second-fastest ever. Hmmmm . . . can I get G to pace me for my next marathon?

*Gwendolyn qualified for Boston in November. She’ll be deferring her entry until the 2010 race, and I can’t wait to follow her training and race day. She’s a star in my book!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2009 7:16 pm

    Good run. Nothing like having a good one on a Saturday morning.

  2. the Zookeeper permalink*
    January 31, 2009 8:31 pm

    Agreed! And I’m hoping that this nice longish fastish run came at just the right time in my training . . . but I know you’re laughing at all my layers in my upper-30s temps!

    How was the weather in your neck of the woods today, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

