Skip to content

I’ll let you know . . .

February 6, 2009

. . . if I feel this way too.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    February 6, 2009 2:44 pm

    That made me laugh and laugh so hard. I have been there and I have seen many people there.. It is great when you go to a “destination” marathon or ultra because the next day everyone is still at the destination so you get to watch everyone. I was at a place where I was not sore after a marathon for a while, but those days are over now. I will be running one on Sunday and I am looking forward to it.

  2. the Zookeeper permalink*
    February 6, 2009 4:35 pm

    You must be excited! I’m at that place where I almost wish March 1 would get here already . . . almost!

    So, since you’ve both been sore and been not-sore, what do you think makes the difference?

  3. run4change permalink
    February 8, 2009 11:02 pm

    Well, I think that main thing on not being to sore is starting out slower than your goal pace. Eating during the marathon helps too. I just gives your muscles food so they don’t have to eat themselves up. Although I am not really for high weekly milage, I think that it helps you recover faster. When I was doing at a minimum of a 20 miler every week and a 30 miler at least once per month, I would not even be sore after a 30 miler.

    Oh yeah, I also run slower than I should. That makes a BIG difference. I have always been a casual marathoner where I did not even care how fast I was going. I just went at a pace where I could feel VERY comfortable the whole way. That is not for everyone for sure. This year I am going to push it and try to go faster and then next year maybe I will go for the comfort again. HAHAHA

  4. run4change permalink
    February 8, 2009 11:02 pm

    I did a marathon today. Everytime I moved or got out of my car or whatever I thought of your video 🙂

  5. run4change permalink
    March 4, 2009 5:40 pm

    So did you end up feeling like they do in the video?

  6. the Zookeeper permalink*
    March 5, 2009 11:58 am

    NO! I felt great–little sore, day after, but totally not walking like Frankenstein. Incredible, b/c I was absolutely waiting for the DOMS to hit. And today, I am completely pain free.

    I should have run harder!

  7. March 6, 2009 5:46 am

    LOL- Funny, I posted this same video on my blog after Gasparilla!

Leave a Reply

