Skip to content

sweet taper

February 7, 2009

I made it.

Ran 23 today in 3:49:09, at almost exactly a 10-minute pace. Natalie ran with me for most of the first 10, and was faster than she’s been for the last couple months–she took last week off, so maybe she felt fresh. We ran the first 3 at a 10:30 pace, then took the next 3 at a 10:15, and were pretty much at a 10-minute pace the rest of the way.

After I dropped her off and was running alone, I couldn’t believe how much better I did at pacing than usual–between miles 10 and 18, my fastest mile came in at 9:51, and my slowest at 10:14 (and I only had one mile that slow). After that, I picked up the pace very slightly–my legs had caught sight of the finish. Mile 18 came in at 9:56, 19 at 9:50, 20 at 9:30, 21 at 9:36, 22 at 9:31, and 23 at 8:45.

I ran 23 by doing what I did before the 13.1 Fort Lauderdale–visualizing the last mile before the finish and telling myself to leave as much time on the clock as I could.

Didn’t hit the wall. Did have other mechanical issues that I want to talk about but I’ll save them for another day.

As of today, I’m officially in taper.

One Comment leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    February 8, 2009 12:18 am

    Aren’t the long runs great. I have a marathon tomorrow. It is part of my training for my 40 miler. Great job on your 23 miler. That is awesome.

Leave a Reply

