Skip to content

Confirmation Email . . . and more

February 26, 2009
tags: ,

Congratulations K,

You are registered for the Publix Super Markets Gasparilla Distance Classic 15K & 5K or Gasparilla Marathon & Half Marathon.  The following will provide you with your bib number, age, name and address.  Please review for accuracy and if changes need to be made, notify Race Management immediately at
<gdca.registration@verizon.net>:

Bib#: 14955
Sex:  F
Age:  34

That email, I received February 20, a week before race day. Today, I received a new email, which informed me that the Gasparilla Distance Classic will be using D-tags to time its runners and encouraging me to visit some links to familiarize myself with how to use the tag. Fortunately for me, the 13.1 Fort Lauderdale also used the D-tag, and I loved not having to remove a chip at the end of the race. I also found it very easy to attach the tag to my shoe, so I feel very confident about the whole process.

At the end of that email, an ominous warning:

2009 REGISTRATION NUMBERS ARE HUGE!

Because registration numbers have surpassed expectations, there will be a shortage of shirts and Finisher’s Medals.  Please know that the Gasparilla Distance Classic Association is committed to insuring that each and every runner and finisher receives a shirt and Finisher’s Medal.

Now, hello. I did not train for six months just to walk away with a paper coupon to go with my permagrin.

But I digress. I have a bib number and an email confirmation. Which I am printing as I speak (type), along with our hotel information and directions, etc.

As Zoomylicious would say, zoot!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:05 pm

    Oh they better get you a shirt. I will personally bad really mad on your behalf if you don’t. HAHAHA The shirt is really important to me. My mom is making a giant blanket with mine.

  2. jhike permalink
    February 28, 2009 9:38 pm

    Hope you got my message…praying now, and will pray tomorrow morning!!! I am SO proud and impressed! 🙂

  3. March 1, 2009 4:48 pm

    Go for it, #14955. Pulling for you to do really well. Looking forward to the race report.

Leave a Reply

