Skip to content

On the Road Again

March 6, 2009
tags:

Easy four miles today, about 9:30 pace, I think. Since in the last week before the marathon I ran a grand total of two miles, it feels really nice to begin to believe that I can begin running with regularity again. And my legs feel really good.

Ran with my most experienced marathoning friend and picked her brain a bit about fueling and my race experience, snags I hit and how I can avoid them next time. She’s in line to run Boston in 2010 so she’s in the process of picking out a fall marathon, and we’d like to get a team together to run the Sunrise to Sunset Relay next spring.

It’s funny, in the middle of marathon training, everything became about that race. It’s nice to be out of that fog, medal earned, and be able to start thinking about the rest of my running life. Even without the restrictions of a training schedule, with the next 5k not on the calendar til April 11, it’s nice just to get out and run.

Don’t tell anyone, but I might run again tomorrow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 6, 2009 2:57 pm

    That is great that you are back to moving again. Stay easy and be safe. Great job

  2. March 6, 2009 10:14 pm

    So, what did you learn about fueling from your friend? Last week was the first time that I felt like I got it right. I’ll repeat the same thing tomorrow and see. But, I would be interested in “hearing” what you learned.

  3. the Zookeeper permalink*
    March 7, 2009 9:02 am

    She’s encouraging me to try Hammer gels. She says they’re less likely to leave me crashing because of their composition. It’ll be a while before I try them, simply because it’ll be a while before I stretch the length of my long runs, but I might visit their website and read up on their research. She suggested I try a salt-replacement tablet, but since I didn’t have a cramping/dehydration problem I’m reluctant to add one more thing to my fueling arsenal. She’a fan of Endurolyte tablets. We tend to run hotter-weather events here, so sweating is always a factor we have to think about, I guess.

  4. run4change permalink
    March 7, 2009 11:14 am

    I use endurolytes, perpetuem, and hammer gel for all my long runs. Definitely check out their site. It has a lot of useful information. I believe that this is the best stuff for endurance fueling that there is.

Leave a Reply

