Skip to content

Perspective

March 7, 2009
tags:

As you probably heard by now, the cold front that left me running my first marathon cold and wet also left four young men clinging to life vests and fighting for their lives in choppy waters in the Gulf of Mexico. Only one was found and rescued. The Coast Guard, and eventually even their families, gave up the search for the other three.

This sure puts my running goals and disappointments into proper perspective. While I was disappointed to be running in conditions that were far from what I had hoped for, at least I was just running. I wasn’t fighting for my life.

My thoughts and prayers are with those who lost people they loved that day–sons, husbands, fathers, friends. The suffering I endured is nothing, I repeat, nothing, compared with the intensity of what those young men must have endured during those hours in the Gulf. I pray their families, especially their parents, may find comfort and guidance in the arms of a God who has also lost a Son, and who knows intimately the pain and agony they feel.

May I never forget that running is just running, not life.

One Comment leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:02 pm

    Intimately He does. And I thank Him for that. Life means so much more than the things we sometimes focus on. I got chills reading your post and I love that Jesus is in the post. I have been depressed all day now but this makes me feel a lot better. It reminds me that life is like the wind and it can come and be gone all in an instant. So now I thank God for what He has done and for the work that He is doing in those families that lost their loves. Lose is never easy, but some times it leads to the greatest FIND of all. Jesus.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

