Skip to content

He Kicked It Clean Off

March 12, 2009

My toenail, that is.

I couldn’t believe it. I took the kids to the park. The Monkey wanted to play some soccer, so we’re kicking the ball around–me, in sandals, again, stupidly.

Little boy asks to play with us–he’s maybe 5, the Lamb’s age. I say, sure, why not? Except he’s not really playing with us, he’s off with the soccer ball by himself, not letting anyone else get a turn. Instead of doing the intelligent wise mother thing and letting the kids work it out, the next time the ball comes in my direction, I stop it, and put it between my feet, to give one of my kids a chance at it.

Except I never got that chance. Because this fervent soccer-playing dynamo proceeded to kick the ball anyway.

While it was between my sandal-clad feet.

Ripped my big toenail clean off.

Let me put it to you this way: it had a corner. On the bottom, where toenails are not supposed to have corners. Yeah, it tore through the skin.

Another playground mom must have seen me pale, because she came over and asked if I was okay. It’s funny, because at the time I was not in pain, actually, but looking at it, as the blood began, I knew I would be–soon. I said, “I don’t believe this.”

Started into action mode–can we finish playing? Uh, no, probably not. Okay, let’s see–call the Boss, see if maybe he’s thinking clearly. Get the podiatrist’s number. Ask him what to do.

Long story short (too late!), the podiatrist got me in about three hours later, which was just enough time to get the kids lunch and work out childcare arrangements. All the while the toe is still bleeding, mind you, and I won’t wrap it because I won’t look at it, let alone touch it.* Took some Motrin for the pain and waited. And yes, the kids got to see Mom crying. Again.

The podiatrist–adorable guy, maybe in his mid-40s, says, well, okay, yeah, this looks like it hurt. Tell you what, I’m gonna get my nurse Mary in here to hold your hand while I give you a couple shots of Novocain, so you don’t feel it when I remove it.

Uh, yeah, that’d be nice if I didn’t feel it when you rip the rest of it off.

So, good news–

  • I will probably grow another nail in its place because there was no trauma to the nail bed.
  • I can run again in a few days–as many as seven, as few as four–once a scab forms over the place where the nail used to be.
  • Mary was wonderful about holding my hand and talking to me so I was distracted while the Novocain was delivered. Actually, it’s amazing how once your toenail is literally ripped off nothing hurts that much by comparison.

Bad news–

  • I have to soak the foot in Epsom salts two times a day for several days.
  • I have to wait from two to seven days to run again.
  • It’s the beginning of sandal season in Florida, and I have a toe that looks like an upturned thumb.**
  • I’m sorry, did I not mention that he kicked it clean off?

*It’s funny, because I’m generally pretty brave about shots and medical stuff; would probably have looked at the c-section if they’d let me. But this, uh-uh, no chance.

**At least I think that’s what it looks like. Again, I haven’t looked at it at all.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 10:50 pm

    ouch! I am sorry. I have had my toe nail fall off a couple of times and it usually happens right at the beginning of sandal season. Hope you heal soon.

  2. run4change permalink
    March 12, 2009 11:07 pm

    This is ironic for me. When I went to the Dr. the other day I actually asked if he could take two big toe nails off because I was tired of them turning black from the long long runs. HAHA My toes flex when I run and they tend to rub on the top of my shoe but never hit the ends. No matter what shoes I get it does this. He said he would if I wanted him too. Crazy huh?

    Sorry about that. You will be up and runnin in no time

  3. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 13, 2009 10:29 am

    Seriously? That’s insane!

    Glad to hear you say I’ll be running soon, though . . .

  4. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 13, 2009 10:30 am

    Really, a couple of times? Wow.

    Thanks for your sunny thoughts. Quick healing is what I’m praying for too. You’d think with MS and migraines in the house I’d be a lot tougher about this, huh?

Trackbacks

  1. He Kicked It Clean Off (Yes, Again) « Mile By Mile
  2. I’m Blaming the Phone « Mile By Mile
  3. Not About Me « Mile By Mile

Leave a Reply

