Skip to content

On the Bench

March 18, 2009

Yep, still sittin’ on it.

I’ve reduced my calories and am trying to inject some strength training into my regime, since I think I could stand to improve my muscle to fat ratio.

I miss running. I wore running shoes for a few hours this morning, and it was somewhat uncomfortable even just to walk in them, so I can’t imagine running in them.

dscn6411The doctor said I could run once the skin had scabbed over, but my body seems to have skipped the scabbing-over process; in its place, it’s developed some whiteness that I at first feared was yucky disgustingness but now I think is just pale new skin that’s never seen the light of day. When I touch it, it’s not sore at all, as I imagine infected skin would be. However, the top half of the nail place where the nail would be is still blood-red-looking and quite sore to the touch, so even if that were a scab and immune to infection, running would be quite impossible.

I’m continuing to soak the toe in Epsom salts for twenty minutes twice a day, and am trying to spend an hour or so without a band-aid in the morning and evening, an experiment fraught with nerves as the house is generally polluted with books and random playthings strewn about, no matter how diligently I police the place. While stubbing my toes used to be a minor annoyance, it has now risen to the level of a major catastrophe.

The Boss has taken to doing a great impression of my cringing every time someone wearing shoes walks within a one-foot radius. The Monkey, proving my point that he inherited his sense of humor, does his own impression of Mom’s new gait–a very faint limp to favor her right side, left big toe almost always lifted off the ground.*

How much longer must I sit on the bench? I fear more lost ground. Having done no speedwork since January, I’m already fearing posting an embarrassing time in my first 5k next month.

*I’m a little worried I’m putting unequal weight on my legs, but I almost can’t help it. When I remember, I focus on not limping, but it takes a concerted effort.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 18, 2009 1:42 pm

    Sorry about the toe. It is a bummer to be on the bench. You gain back in fitness what you may have lost in no time flat.

  2. March 18, 2009 9:15 pm

    I feel your pain.

  3. March 18, 2009 9:33 pm

    …well…. you could cut the toe box off your shoe…..

    but in my experience that would just lead to something else on top of the missing toenail. 😉

    hang in there, you’ll be back on your feet soon – definitely don’t want an infection! don’t think your stride would be as effective without the big toe.

  4. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 19, 2009 7:07 am

    Lindsay, Bob, and Jason, I appreciate your support. It seems so childish to complain about this and you’re right–I don’t want an infection! I had a running friend who couldn’t run for months because of a bad foot yuckiness, so I’m trying to be smart.

    Thanks for the sense of humor–it helps!

  5. jhike permalink
    March 23, 2009 9:08 pm

    OK-I’m tired, its 10pm, and now I’m going to have nightmares…
    You need to warn me before posting pictures like that. I am SO sorry…it looks even worse than I imagined, and I guess its probably even a little bit healed since it happened…

Leave a Reply

