Skip to content

Progress!

March 23, 2009

I felt great all weekend. Worried a little about how the toe looks, but can’t ask the Boss to take a morning off earlier than Thursday, the day I already have my scheduled follow-up with the podiatrist. Watching and waiting. Doesn’t feel hot to the touch, the soreness is really much better.

Today, the Monkey says he wants to go the park and play soccer–the same park, mind you, where the “incident” took place. So, I armed myself with courage and running shoes (which I have not been able to wear comfortably since the accident, though I’ve tried), and off we went.

I did it!

We ran races, played tag, and kicked that soccer ball for over an hour*. When we got home, I went ahead and took my running shoes off just to get the toe out of the sock, but it wasn’t unconfortable or sore in the least. I couldn’t believe it, considering how much it’s hurt in the last week just to wear a closed-toe shoe. I’m not going out for a ten-miler tomorrow, but I’m considering going out for a two-mile walk, just to test it out.

*I’m going to have to wear my Garmin one of these days when I run around the park with that kid. He’s so fast! You’d think I’d be pretending to run to keep up with him, but I’m really just running easy. Good nap for him today!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 23, 2009 11:32 am

    So glad you posted again. I was wondering how the toe was doing. I am happy that it is much improved and that you got to test it out in the most wonderful and benificial way. Sounds like a wonderful time with a wonderful mother.

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 23, 2009 12:34 pm

    Hey, thanks for checking in. I feel so selfish being worried about this and missing running as much as I do–my husband hasn’t been able to play tennis since being diagnosed with MS two years ago. God is sure using the time off to teach me some stuff!

    Your encouragement means so much to me! Thanks!

    (That Ironman video made me CRY! That kind of endurance is humbling. Thanks for posting it.)

  3. March 23, 2009 8:00 pm

    Glad you were able to run and play without pain. I bet you’ll be back and running in no time flat.

    I’m sitting here wishing that I could say something wise (and I don’t mean wisecrack) about your missing running and your husband’s MS, but nothing’s there. I scrolled back up to reread your post and your scripture (Hebrews 12:1) caught my eye. I quickly prayed that each of you would have the grace to run, with patience, the races set before you both individually and as a family.

  4. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 25, 2009 12:20 pm

    Bob, what you’ve said is incredibly wise, actually; my husband is much more thankful and appreciative than I am and is a constant reminder of how God would want me to appreciate whatever He gives me. This weekend, we’re leaving the kids with his parents and going to see a tennis tournament. I’m constantly amazed at the enjoyment he still gets out of “his” sport–and the grace with which I see him running his race. He also reminded me that, since I was on pace to run 25 miles the week after the marathon, losing a toenail and being on the bench was probably God’s grace to me–as I should have been recognizing it all along.

    Your prayers on our behalf mean more to me than I can possibly tell you.

Leave a Reply

