Skip to content

Best Four Miles of My Life

March 25, 2009

Please notice I didn’t say the fastest.

After feeling so good on Monday, I thought I’d go for a walk on Tuesday, but I had dinner plans with a friend and didn’t get to bed til 11, so getting up at 5 or anywhere close wasn’t happening, not for this migraine sufferer. So, last night I went to bed closer to 10, and got up this morning and set out.

Started with a half-mile of walking, but I knew that if that felt okay, I’d try to run.

The first mile was tough, not on the feet but the legs. Just felt tired and tight. Pace was slow–10:16, 10:26, 10:10, 9:43–with stretch breaks at the end of each of the first two miles. But once I’d warmed up and gotten into a rhythm after that, I felt much better, and I knew that it would be this way, that after twelve days with no running at all, I’d feel a little “off” and would have to ease back into it.

The toe itself feels okay. It looked a little redder after the post-run shower, but I don’t think there’s any real damage done.

The Mizunos felt like they had much more room in the toebox than the Brooks, so I’m not sure whether to try them again tomorrow or try a different arch support type, or try to cut the arch support I’m wearing to give myself more room in the toe, or wear a thinner sock tomorrow.

I do plan to go again tomorrow, something between 3 and 5.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 25, 2009 2:08 pm

    I knew what this post was about as soon as I read the title. HAHAHA i am so happy for you. It always feels so good to get back to running after a break even if it is harder than before. Ahhh. The freedom, the wind, the exertion. Just perfect. Great job and I am very blessed to know you are back and running.

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 25, 2009 2:12 pm

    Tee-hee–I’m happy for myself! Yes, it’s good to be back. I couldn’t have described it better myself. God’s good–all the time!

  3. April 1, 2009 1:20 pm

    Welcome back to the roads!

Leave a Reply

