Skip to content

Not Today

March 26, 2009

Yeah, no.

I guess bedtime needs to be closer to 9, not 10. But it’s hard to tell the Boss I won’t watch the episode of The Office he tivo’d last week when we don’t get to watch enough time together as it is . . .

Anyway, alarm went off and it just wasn’t happening.

Other factor was that I made plans to go running with Little G, my fastest marathoning friend, tomorrow, and I have the thought in the back of my mind that an easy day might be necessary before running with her. I warned her I’d be slow, but my post-marathon slow run with G was at a 9:40 pace.

My other thought was that this way I could go see the podiatrist before running again.

Lame, I know. I was really just being lazy.

Ugh. This will literally be the first month in a year I don’t break 90 miles. I’m not sure why that bothers me so much, but it does. At least I’m still ahead of the 1500 pace bunny at RunningAHEAD, thanks to marathon training.

On to the stuff that really matters. The Boss and I have been praying for months that God would give him a new position within his company. The position that he is currently in, while somewhat prestigious, is fraught with stress and long hours. Much to my pride and delight, my sweet husband decided to trade in the prestige and contact a former supervisor to request a “demotion,” so to speak, to his department. This would enable him to put in shorter hours and less stress–better both for his overall health and family life.

Our faith was definitely tested, as we prayed for months with little visible progress. Yesterday, the job transfer was made official. And, though initially we were told that his salary level would remain exactly the same, he is in fact being offered a 4% increase, which will enable me to stay home with the little animals a little longer. Praise God! Again, He is teaching me that when I am patient and prayerful, I’m doing my job–and that He is always doing His, no matter what I think.

Sorry for the deviation from the running stuff–just had to share. Praise God–He is good, all the time!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 26, 2009 8:29 am

    God really came through didn’t HE. Gotta be God when it is a demotion that has a raise along with it. HAHAHA

  2. March 26, 2009 9:48 am

    Ha, I have a hard time going to bed at a reasonable hour, too. I think I was up until nearly 1, but my eyes still pop open WAY too early. Gah!

    So glad to hear that your hubby’s job scenario is so positive. My hubby recently took a 10% pay decrease, but he also gets every-other Friday off. We are thankful that he still HAS a job, plus the timing is not bad…with nicer weather he can get out on his bike for long rides and my student loans and car are nearly paid-off, so we’re not noticing the reduction in income.

  3. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 26, 2009 5:51 pm

    Just goes to show you in His dictionary, things are always different from how we see them. Has to be a God thing!

  4. April 1, 2009 1:21 pm

    Glad you deviated from the running stuff. It does take faith to step down.

Leave a Reply

