Skip to content

But Yes, Today!

March 29, 2009

So, my “slow” run with Little G turned out to be 6½-miler at 9:05 pace. I was able to chatter during most of the run, about daily life, about our study of Moses (G attends a different session of the Bible study the Monkey and I go to on Wednesday mornings), etc. It made me wonder whether I push hard enough on easy days when I run alone.

Like me, Little G feels like she hasn’t been putting in enough miles–though in her case, this is due to scheduling conflicts. She was, in fact, planning a double on Friday, when we ran together. I knew I shouldn’t plan to run twice after not running for so long and then running faster than I have been, and then I remembered that there’d be no running on Saturday since the Boss and I had a day-long date to watch the tennis greats competing in the Sony Ericsson tournament down in Key Biscayne.

Well, sometimes running has to yield to life.  Running rule #6: Don’t make running your life. Make it part of your life.

We spent Friday night at Grandma and Granpda’s, since they’d be keeping the kids for us Saturday, and headed down to Key Biscayane early Saturday–more on the tennis later. Spent all day down there, not returning to Palm Beach County until 9pm. We decided to go ahead and spent another night at their house. Having planned for that eventuality, I’d packed running clothes, since one advantage of being at their house would be a shorter drive to church and therefore, maybe, a Sunday-morning run.

I got up early and snuck out of the house. Garmin ready, I decided to test myself a little. Without a running partner, what am I really capable of, on training day? Instead of my new daily 10:30-11-minute pace, which is ridiculous for a woman who posted a sub-24 5k not so long ago, I set out at a more ambitious 9-minute pace. Of course, the 9-minute pace pushed up to closer to HM-pace for some stretches there, but in the end I hung out pretty close to that 9-minute pace, I think, for the first four miles. Even when I tried to ease it back down, my body just stayed in that cruising state. It’s funny when you look at my splits: mile 1, 8:55, mile 2, 9:02, mile 3, 8:53, mile 4, 9:02. It’s like I was running intervals. But in the end I’m pleased with the fact that my body felt like I was cruising at that pace. For that last mile I really did concentrate on slowing down and treat it like a cooldown mile, and came in at 9:14.

Little G wants to run a 7-mile race around Lake Okeechobee on April 11. I hadn’t planned to race that kind of distance yet, mostly because I know I’m short on speedwork and I’m not the kind of runner who can show up at an event planning to jog it. I’ve got two weeks to try to work some speed back into my legs, though I know the heat and humidity will be working against me at the same time.

The good news is that since it’s a new event and a new distance, a PR is guaranteed.

The plan is to start out at that nine-minute pace and then see how the course and distance treat me. The calculator at RunningAHEAD predicts a time of 55:54, based on my PRs at the 5k and 10k. That’s exactly an 8-minute pace, which I think is very optimistic at this point both in my training and on the calendar.

Two weeks to find out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 29, 2009 10:02 pm

    I love your posts. Is the 7 miler a trail run or on a paved path around the lake with the awesome name. I did an 18 miler today. First 8 miles easy and then the last ten at the race pace for marathons. My foot hurts like the dickens now. I am going to take it easy for a couple of days. Great job with your running

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 31, 2009 3:28 pm

    Isn’t that a great name? With a 7-mile distance, it can’t possibly actually be around the lake–the lake is huge. I’m not sure about the surface of the race, and I sure wish I did. I plan to ask tomorrow when I go register for it.

    What happened to your foot, and is it going to mess you up with your 40-miler?

  3. run4change permalink
    April 1, 2009 8:41 am

    My foot might mess me up. i am very scared of that. I am going to do whatever rest it takes to make it better so that I can run this race. It means a lot to me to finish this ultra as it is my anniversary of when I started running.

  4. April 1, 2009 1:27 pm

    Good run. I’ve learned that a mix of paces during a week is good for my running. Usually, I do 3 days of shorter distances (4.5-6.5 miles) at a moderately easy pace, one day of speedwork at close to my 10K goal pace, and one longer run (8-14 miles) at the moderate pace. The one that I’m most likely to skip is the speedwork — it’s all out and leaves me gasping for breath — but, it’s one of the best workouts for actual races.

  5. the Ringmaster permalink*
    April 2, 2009 12:05 pm

    J, I hope your foot holds up. Be careful on it. I understand your desire to run this particular race. I have a heart for the 5k that I ran as my very first race (it doesn’t hurt that it draws a tiny field and is one of the only ones I ever place at!)

    Bob, I felt like I had an excuse to skimp on the speedwork while I was ramping up the mileage, but I know I don’t anymore. I might go back to my old plan of taking turns between tempo runs and mile repeats every other week. Like you, I’d rather do long runs any day . . .

Leave a Reply

