Skip to content

One Month Post-Race

April 2, 2009
tags:

Two weeks before the marathon, I was tired and cranky. I’d put on lots of miles in training for the race, my first at that distance. I was finding it increasingly difficult to get through the shortest easy runs and losing my confidence.

Two weeks after the race, a careless decision to wear sandals to play at the park turned into a painful injury that rendered me unable to get through a short walk, let alone a run.

I am happy to report that today’s run was one of those: the days you long for as a runner, when you feel good about your legs, about your pace, about your cardiovascular effort as you go. My breathing might have been labored, but didn’t feel overly so considering my pace; it was an easy run that felt so, even at a 9:50 or so pace that got so far away from me during those last weeks of M training. I felt tall*, strong, and powerful, like I could run forever, though I was consciously working on my posture and running form, so I wasn’t totally disassociated from my running mechanics, I can honestly say that I thoroughly enjoyed this run.

I needed it. After months of training, I promised myself that running would be about enjoying myself again, about finding joy in being physically active, not just in pushing my limits. Today, I did that.

*Funny, considering I’m all of five feet tall.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    April 3, 2009 8:05 am

    THat is just awesome. I had a run like that yesterday myself. Except for the rain it was perfect. Great job and I am so happy for you that you felt so “runner” like

  2. April 3, 2009 9:13 pm

    It’s good to read such a positive report.

Leave a Reply

