Skip to content

Who’s not in training?

April 21, 2009

As I promised after running the 26.2 at Gasparilla, I’m in the middle of a non-training schedule. I sit down most Saturday evenings and, in the middle of planning my entire week, pencil out the next couple of weeks of running. I’m including some speedwork to keep the legs fresh wake up the legs after the long absence of it during M training. I’m also trying to keep up with the long-er runs*, family and other obligations allowing.

So, last week, the plan was Sunday rest, Monday easy 8, Tuesday interval 8, Wednesday easy 6, Thursday easy 6, Friday rest, Saturday long 10. But I ended up missing Monday because of lost sleep. I put in my 8 on Tuesday, did 6 on Wednesday, 7 on Thursday, and instead of 10 I did 12 on Saturday. Miles per week: 34.

The plan this week: Monday easy 8, Tuesday tempo 6, Wednesday easy 6, Thursday easy 6, Friday rest, Saturday long 13. Now I ended up missing today to a powerful thunderstorm, but my weekly mileage will be in the 30-35 range.

The boss says I’m supposed to be resting from heavy training, but I hate shorter runs. In fact, I’m considering throwing in a shorter tempo run on Thursday of next week–maybe a six miler with the middle miles run at 10k pace or so, maybe just HM pace so they don’t beat me up for the long run a couple of days later.

My other bit of logical thinking is that if I can keep this kind of base through non-training season, I’ll only really have to extend the long runs when training season rolls around. If I want to extend the daily runs, that’ll just be bonus. And hopefully, instead of my legs being dead, they’ll be used to the mileage and ready to build up again. Last year I was doing 30 mpw in the summer, but on four days a week instead of five.

And if I can push one of the midweek runs to 9 or 10 miles for my next marathon, I’d like that even better.

*You know, when I was training for my first half, the 2008 A1A Half, which was not that long ago, really, a 7 miler was my first long run. Now 8 miles is a standard easy run twice a week. Funny thing is, 12 or 14 miles doesn’t seem that long now. Though it’s still too long, mostly b/c of time, to run during the week, it’s over pretty fast and doesn’t require any particular fueling**. Maybe I’ll feel like I’m doing “true” long runs when I start training for a marathon or half and start putting in closer to 16 or 18 miles.

**I put a gel in the back pocket of my Nike skirt for the 12-miler this weekend, but I didn’t take it; I figured I’ve done plenty of this distance without any fuel–heck, I trained for and ran my first 13.1 on water alone. But, at about 10 miles, I got really yucky and nauseous–the same feeling I got at mile 18 at Gasparilla. So maybe I should have taken the gel. I didn’t take it then b/c I knew I’d be done within twenty minutes and it would probably do no good. Makes me wonder, though–maybe it’s just warmer and the humidity takes more out of me? My first half was in February, so I trained for it through our cooler months. I might go back to the Sport Beans for this weekend’s 13.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    April 21, 2009 2:31 pm

    I have felt that same way while doing longerish runs with no fueling. I never get nauseous but I always get real foggy in my mind and body. I usually go for around two hours with no fuel but on runs longer than two hours I eat. Regardless of the length or time of the run I feel better mentally when I eat but I don’t because like you said I feel that it does not real good on the shorter ones.

    I love your posts.

  2. April 22, 2009 4:08 pm

    Usually, I take a gel with me when I am running for more than 1 hr. I take it about 45 minutes into it then I am able to run without much fatigue.

    Hope that one day I can call my 10+ mile runs “short runs” like you. You inspire me.

Leave a Reply

