Skip to content

Got My Speedwork In

April 22, 2009
tags:

Little G called to see if I wanted to run today. I did. She met me at my place and we set out for my six-mile loop.

Yikes, the girl is fast–we did the 6 at an 8:25 pace; not fast for you, maybe, but blazing for me. It’s my PR HM pace and at this point in my training, felt like flying. Of course we were chatting the whole time, so we didn’t feel it. We got back to my street and heard the beep and I couldn’t believe the elapsed time. I think we just speed each other up, and the more we run together the faster we push.

In fact, hold on while I go look at something . . . [goes off to check training log at RunningAHEAD] . . . I’ve run with Little G four times post-marathon, and our pace has gotten faster consistently in those runs. Hopefully that means nothing. The first run was slow–9:42, not slow for me but slow for us together–in deference to the fact that it was my very first post-M run, just 5 days post 26.2. The next two runs were at 9:04 and 9:07 average, one a 6 miler, one a 10 miler. So maybe today was just an off day. It was coolish; 59 as we set out, and both of us had to get back home to get our days started.

Yeah, that was it.

Still, I’d rescheduled my tempo run, after missing it Tuesday, for tomorrow, and I’m definitely taking it easy now. Just an easy 8. I’ll have to start early as I have to attend the meeting for parents registering kindergarten students at the Lamb’s school next fall.

Yikes, I have a school-age child already? I’m going to be one of those moms with the lists at Target? I’m so not old enough.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    April 23, 2009 8:51 am

    I love it that you use the name “lamb’. it makes me feel good everytime I read it. HAHAHA Those are fast paces. Great job.

  2. April 23, 2009 12:31 pm

    I have the same kind of thing happen with one of the guys I run with. We get to talking and just go faster and faster. Wednesday morning, we were the only two from our group to show up. Off we went for 6.25 miles, both of thinking we’d hold it to an easy run pace. When the first mile passed at about faster than half marathon pace, we knew we were doing it again. We ended up at slightly slower than a 10K race pace. Like you, we weren’t really conscious of how fast we were going except that we knew we were faster than an “easy” pace.

Leave a Reply

