Skip to content

Off-Season Goals

April 26, 2009

Because just because I’m not in training doesn’t mean I’m not thinking about my next race.

Here’s what I’m concentrating on while I’m not consciously consciously not working on my running speed and mileage:

  1. as always, avoiding injury
  2. strengthening my core
  3. reducing the imbalance in my leg muscles by strengthening all leg muscles
  4. maintaining a base of 30 mpw
  5. maintaining a long run base of 10-14 miles
  6. mixing it up with some speed once in a while
  7. taking it easy most days and running by feel

I’m very consciously trying to keep the goals, mileage, and speed light, so that when it’s time to ramp up the training I can do that without burning out. I don’t want a repeat of the feeling I had in January, when I couldn’t wait to reach taper. It felt like it was too late to back out of the marathon, yet too early to feel so tired all the time. Maybe that’s part of marathon training, especially your first one, but I can’t help but feel that I could have avoided it by taking a lighter season of training in the early spring. Fortunately, the 30 miles per week does feel easy now, as do the long runs in the 10 to 14 mile range. Yoga is helping me not only strengthen my core but also teaching me new ways to stretch and lengthen my muscles post-run. Some poses are definitely difficult, not to say impossible, for me, pinpointing muscles that need to be coaxed and babied and moved along. It feels good to move in ways that are so different from running, to balance and breathe and work on the fine-tuning of that part of my mind-body connection.

As you know, hopefully, I mean that in a totally non-hokey way.

I’m an athlete, for cryin’ out loud.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2009 2:32 pm

    Most excellent goals–if I’d done more of these things during my base-buiilding phase I’d probably not be benched right now.

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    April 27, 2009 10:41 am

    Oh, TK, I don’t believe that and I hope you don’t either. I was thinking about you yesterday, sending waves of good thoughts your way. I know it must have been a tough day, but I hope you feel your body getting stronger each day and know that you made the tough but right choice.

    Thanks for affirming my goals–trying to keep moving forward in this somewhat restful stage.

  3. April 27, 2009 1:17 pm

    Sounds like your goals are the same as mine — maintain fitness and a reasonable level of speed against some future, as yet unplanned event. I should add the core exercises but…. The one thing I would add to your list (it’s probably not stated because it’s assumed) is to continuing stretching to stay flexible and help avoid injuries.

Leave a Reply

