Skip to content

Beetles, Beetles, Everywhere

April 30, 2009

Starting with my Tuesday run, these small round golden beetles littered the first loop of my 8-miler, crawling all over the sidewalks and streets as I navigated the early miles. They were certainly alive, seeking shelter or food, I suppose. Are they out due to our unusually long drought? The rainy season is supposed to be starting soon, but experts tell us it will be arriving late, something we hate to hear as our plants are parched and in desperate need of moisture, as are our lakes and canals.

So–8¼ yesterday Tuesday, run in 5 mile repeats with ¼-mile jogs, with a mile warm-up and cool-down. It was tough to do so many long intervals, and my average pace was slow compared to where I was in the peak of my training season last year–8:10. But, meh, I’m not in training season, and I was purposely holding the pace down so I could get that many repeats in, and I was trying to get that many repeats in because I like to get in a decent number of miles in me, working on endurance and speed while I can.

This interval run was my last run, I think, in my marathon shoes. They’re my first pair of Brooks Adrenalines 8. They only have 287 miles on them but my knees are talking to me. Since I have two pairs of the same shoe waiting for me, it makes no sense not to move this pair out of rotation.

Skipped running yesterday–got to bed late and didn’t seem wise to squeeze in a run and risk a migraine.

Then last night I had a miserable night–actually laid in bed in that still-don’t-move-or-I’ll-throw-up state. When the alarm went off I got up and ambled into the bathroom. I didn’t throw up, though I didn’t feel great and my stomach was definitely upset. I wondered if I was maybe a little dehydrated, but I didn’t feel feverish (didn’t check because I didn’t feel warm to the touch, though I guess putting your own hand to your forehead isn’t as good a measure of fever as putting your hand to your child’s forehead, huh?), so I filled up my hand-held Fuel Belt water bottle and set out. The original plan was to get in a mid-length long run by setting out right around 5 or before then, say 9 or 10 miles, but with my stomach and everything else I got out closer to 5:30 and got in 8½ instead, not at great pace, and had to be content. I was very thankful for the water–stopped for sips at every mile for the first four and then every other mile thereafter.

For some reason, the holders I’ve been using to hold my hair back just aren’t working right now. I’m not sure why–I haven’t done anything to my hair recently–but I’m having to stop every mile or two to put my ponytail back in. After the windy days we’ve been having, I also have had to experiment with headbands as I’ve been getting some flyaway hair near my face that’s very uncomfortable to run with and too short to tuck behind my ears. I found some skinny ones from Goody that are doing the job very well so far. They moved around a lot during yoga but for some reason stay in place very well during running, so I’ll be wearing them for the foreseeable future.

No long run Saturday as we have a busy weekend planned. I’ve penciled in six for tomorrow morning; it should get me my 30 miles per week.

Sorry for the rambling stream of consciousness . . . let’s blame it on the lack of fluids, shall we?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    April 30, 2009 2:05 pm

    When I lived in texas, the crickets would come out in full force in the spring/summer. They would pill up in the shade of the corners of the buildings and die and then get all stinky. Piles and piles of them. The university maintenance would vacuum and sweep them up all the time. Full time job. I hated it and it grossed me out. Where I live now you never ever see crickets, you only hear them which is the way I like it.

  2. April 30, 2009 7:16 pm

    There were skinny worms all over the roads and sidewalks here yesterday. Not sure what was up — really strange since it hadn’t rained.

  3. May 3, 2009 10:09 pm

    Hi, good post. I have been pondering this topic,so thanks for writing. I will certainly be coming back to your blog.

  4. the Ringmaster permalink*
    May 4, 2009 9:47 am

    Ugh! What is it with bugs? I know, He made them too. But ugh!

    Hey, Bob–we went to the park Friday and there were works all over the sidewalks here too. Coincidence or consipiracy?

Leave a Reply

