Skip to content

Raring to Go

June 8, 2009

As I start planning out my racing calendar, I’m starting to get excited about the upcoming season.

The long-distance races are run locally either in the winter or early spring: by March, it’s way too hot to race more than six miles in Florida; in fact, Gasparilla* is one of the later races; only Sarasota is run later, the second weekend of March. Other than that, only half marathons, like Disney’s new Princess Half, are run during the third scorching month.

But, if you want to train for a winter race, you have plenty of choices: the X-Country Marathon in Lithia and Space Coast in November, Palm Beach, Jacksonville, and the Florida Marathon in Clermont in December, and Disney World, Ocala,  and ING Miami in January. Then comes the most popular marathon month in Florida, with no less than ten events listed at Running in the USA’s website in February. You can run in Tallahassee, Pensacola, Gainesville, and in Fort Lauderdale at one of my favorites, the A1A Marathon. You can also run the relatively new but popular 26.2 with Donna, or Breast Cancer Marathon, run in Jacksonville that month. Trail runner? Run the Orlando Xtreme series, also in February. Trail runner and ultrarunner? Go for the Dances With Dirt series.

No shortage of choices if you want to train through the fall and early winter, or even race once in the winter and then again in the early spring.

So, here’s the plan, for now: train for an early-winter race, either Space Coast or Palm Beach, and run my next 26.2 there. Following that, I’ll try to set a 13.1 PR at Tallahassee.

The plan is to begin building up my mileage to 40 miles per week now, and hold it there through June and most of July. The hard work of true marathon training will begin at the beginning of August. I intend to ramp up the mileage slowly, with two 16-milers and two 18-milers, then four 20-milers during the 18-week training season. Yes, this time the plan includes speedwork all the way through. Mileage still tops out at 55 miles per week, and I still have two rest days scheduled most weeks.

I’m still tinkering with my daily mileage, but I’ll come back and post the schedule when it’s more perfect, and when I’ve made a decision on which race I’m registering for.

I can’t wait to go racing. Though penciling in the numbers it’s hard to believe how much work it takes to race this distance–I can’t believe I’m writing in weeks of 6miles-rest-9miles-9miles-8miles-rest-23miles–I’m actually excited to do it again.

This is a very odd, disorganized post. I’ll come back with more organization tomorrow.

One Comment leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    June 8, 2009 5:47 pm

    I enjoyed hearing about the multitude of races in your area. That is cool.

Leave a Reply

