Skip to content

Yep, I’m Doing It Again

June 11, 2009
tags: , , ,

Signed up for another hot-weather race: am running a 5K on Saturday. Race doesn’t start until 7:30, so I expect that temperatures will be well in the 90s as we’re running. I don’t have high expectations of setting a PR, though I’d love to do better than I did at the Pineapple race.

Though Little G cannot run the race because of her work schedule, Mel will be there; we’re planning to drive out together. I’m so thankful for my running buds!

In other news, I’m not sure if I mentioned it, but the last pair of Nike Structure Triax 11+ I bought were not 9.5 wides, which I usually wear, but 9 wides instead. I’ve been wearing them for about a month, but this week I finally realized that I wa going to have to change something. I can’t take the shoes back or stop wearing them–or maybe I should say I won’t. I generally wear Thorlo socks, big giant heavy things that I’m sure add a lot of thickness inside my shoes. So I went down to my running store yesterday and found thinner socks. I bought one pair of thin Nike socks and one pair of Feetures socks. The Nikes are very thin; the Feetures slightly thicker, but still much thinner than the Thorlos.

This morning I set out in the Nike socks, actually carrying the Feetures  socks. Since I plan on racing Saturday in the Nike shoes, I wanted to know which socks would give me the best fit, and today’s was the last planned run before the race. So, yes, at mile 3, I changed socks.

The Nike socks felt good–but very thin. I had to lace my shoes more tightly, even using the top eyelet, to keep my foot in securely. But overall, I felt comfortable. But then I switched to the Feetures socks–what a difference! My feet instantly felt so much more at home in the shoes–not tight, but just right. So, yes, these will be my racing socks and shoes.

Let’s go racing!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 5:02 am

    good luck! i am debating a 5k this weekend too… but the weather (hot!) and my lack of speed training of any sorts lately has me going back and forth. good luck and have fun, and you never know about that pr!

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    June 12, 2009 12:44 pm

    Yeah, my speed training hasn’t been up to par lately. But God may smile on me! Thanks for the encouragement, Lindsay–I hope you take some for yourself and go racing this weekend. If nothing else, it’s one way to get our speedwork in, right?

Leave a Reply

