Skip to content

Who Makes Me Do These Things?

July 6, 2009

After running at a pretty fast pace with Little G on Wednesday and going to bed way too late that night, I made the decision to skip running on Thursday, moving my rest day, which I usually take on Friday. I do run sometimes on Friday, the day before the long run, but never longer than four miles.

Instead, this week, I ran six. They were run very easy, though I was not so tired as to shirk off the extra quarter-mile when Garmie beeped and I was still a block from home.

The alarm seemed to go off extra early the next day, as indeed, it did–I had decided on my last long run that I couldn’t keep starting anywhere close to six, as any run close to two hours ends way past sunrise and after then temperatures have risen way too high. And, between vacation and the last 5K, I hadn’t done a long run in a month, either–since June 6. So it was tough indeed to rise at 4:45, about the same time as weekdays, to don my running gear, get down some peanut butter toast, and head out the door.

I was headed south on A1A by about 5:30, setting out at about a 10-minute pace. I got to the first water stop at 2 miles and then turned to head north. I intended to put in 14 miles, but ugh, what a lonely, miserable long run. Don’t get me wrong–I usually put in my long runs alone, and I don’t generally mind the solitude. But it was hot out there, and humid. At every water stop (even miles), runners were turning around sooner than planned, which made it harder to keep heading out. I ran into my friend M at about the 6 mile mark. She was on the way south; I was still headed north. I told her I intended to put in 14, but it wasn’t long after that I knew 14 just wasn’t in the cards, especially if I wanted to get back on my normal training schedule this week, which begins on Sunday.

Instead, I made the decision to turn around at the 8-mile mark, which would bring me back to my car at 12 miles total. At that water stop, I also downed a Gu, finding it much less refreshing having been up against my overheated body for over an hour. I turned around to head back to my car and tried to convince myself I could run four miles in my sleep.

Ran into M again, who was headed back to her car with Little G, whom she’d picked up on the way. They told me they were hitting the beach when they were finished with the run, and that, at least, put a spring in my step. I put in the last miles in 9:20, 9:13, 8:33.

Okay, one confession: when I stopped at a water stop and had a little wait while other runners hydrated, I started looking at my weekly mileage totals and realized that I was almost at 40 miles on the week. To get there, I’d have to finish off 13 miles instead of 12. Come on, wouldn’t you put in that extra mile?

After the run I joined M and Little G at the beach, where the water was deliciously cold and wonderfully refreshing, reminding me that the place I live, though tough on training, has its advantages too.

But my challenge was far from over: Sunday, the Lord’s day, and the alarm was set for 4:45–a later time as a nod to the shorter mileage planned–just 4 miles on the day, though I had planned to add embedded cross training again.

It was hard to believe how tired my legs were, though easy to attribute to three days of pounding. I’d gone from always taking off the days before and after the long run to sometimes running either the day before or the day after to running both the day before and the day after–what did I expect?

In spite of this, my miles did get progressively faster.

Mile 1: 10:30
XT: 40 reverse crunches
Mile 2: 9:58
XT: 50 push-ups; 20 reverse adductors
Mile 3: 9:44
XT: 15 holds (plank/up dog); 150 crunches
Mile 4: 9:08

I took the day off today. My muscles are somewhat sore, but I’m happy to have proven to myself that I have the willpower to overcome tiredness. I don’t think I was risking injury–nothing hurt sharply or weirdly, just sore-ly.

Tomorrow, I’m back on track. I’ve just got to remember to get to bed early!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    July 7, 2009 7:34 am

    When I read your post’s, I make me think you live in this wonderland of running and friends. Almost like the “perfect world” that you might see on TV or something. You go running and see your friend M, a little later you see G, and then after that you are all having a jolly time together at the beach. HAHAHA I have never seen anyone that I knew while I was running. HAHAAHAHAH

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    July 7, 2009 12:02 pm

    LOL That’s funny–I should write a running sitcom! “Friends on the Run,” I would call it. I do most of my runs by myself–but I am blessed to have friends who run–especially such strong Christian women. They’re a great support system.

    I wonder what’ll happen next week on “Friends on the Run?”

  3. July 8, 2009 5:50 pm

    You are remarkable! I love that there’s someone else out there who sees the necessity in completing a run before the sun is blazing hot!

  4. the Ringmaster permalink*
    July 9, 2009 2:35 pm

    Ha! I don’t know about remarkable–my resolve definitely flagged today, and I slacked on my run. I’m gonna try to get out this evening. I don’t have the cutie-pie baby excuse!

Leave a Reply

