Skip to content

I’m Blaming the Phone

July 31, 2009

It’s been a tough week. Naturally, since it’s week one.

As I mentioned, our car went out on Tuesday, and then the air died too, to keep it company. On Wednesday we stuck around to wait for estimates from several companies, so were in the sweltering heat all day.

I skipped my run Tuesday and ran with Little G Wednesday. I meant to run Thursday, my scheduled 8, but when the alarm went off, I did not. I must have turned the alarm off instead, because I woke up around the time I’m usually heading back in the house post-run.

It’s like my biorhythms–a word I would normally not even use–are all off. During normal days, even during the offseason, my body wakes up almost on its own, right around 5 o’clock. I noticed today that when the alarm went off, I hit snooze. And when I woke again, I was actually dreaming. Not only had I gone back to sleep, I’d gone right back into REM. See what I mean about my rhythms being off? This is more than just going to bed late–I’m all off.

Now, I got my new Runner’s World late yesterday afternoon and naturally I’m about 70% done with it (draw your own conclusions regarding reading speed v. content), and something mentioned in the article about Tera Moody’s insomnia caught my eye–that you should avoid using your Blackberry 30 minutes before bed because white screens can impair your ability to go to sleep.

Hmmmm. Bear with me here because this story gets long and convoluted–big surprise.

I love my podiatrist. ‘Member when he saved my toenail after it got kicked off? Yeah. Great guy. Lousy staff. They neglected to type up his oral notes once. They also forgot to call to tell me he was in emergency surgery, so that I showed up for an appointment once when he was in his other office–one hour away. Well, last month I completely forgot an appointment–not surprisingly, since it had been scheduled six months earlier. Hey, how’s about a reminder phone call? After also very nearly forgetting a birthday party for one of the Lamb’s friends, I told my husband the paper-and-pencil calendar wasn’t cutting it anymore and we were going to have to try harder to restore my old PDA. Well, he’d seen the commercial for the new, cheaper (key word) iPhone. His work picked up the contract on his cell, so he surprised me and bought me my very own iPhone.

Delightful. I’ve spent the last week putting my life on the thing–including helpful alerts that will CALL ME when I have an appointment coming up. Thank you, external brain.

Unfortunately, I’ve been doing this, apparently, too close to bed. Sometimes IN bed. Apparently this should stop.

In addition, the kids have been enrolled in swimming lessons for the last two weeks*, from 9 to 9:30 every day. They’re in the water. Mom’s outside, sweating. And I don’t think I’m drinking enough–maybe not even eating enough, something Lindsay made me think about when I read the latest post of Chasing the Kenyans my new RSS feeder downloaded**. My weight’s gone from 112 to 108 in the last 10 days. I’m not taking donations yet, but it’s something to keep an eye on.

All this served to make a tough run today. Tough to get up, tough to get out of the house, and even tougher to muscle through the eight miles. And trust me, it was one of those runs–have you had them?–where you literally MUSCLE THROUGH. Ugh. Some runs are fantastic, you sing with the heavens every minute . . . not this one. I felt every stride, could almost tell you every echo of thought that it took to occupy my mind as I ran.

I thought of my thirst for a PR at this half . . . that it’s going to take these tough runs, too, to get me to that finish; and that if running were easy, everyone would do it.

Tomorrow, long run day–still planning to do it though it’ll have to be pushed to the evening. I tell you, I thought life would get less complicated with the kids getting older but it’s going the opposite way. Having the iPhone was supposed to help, and I’ve put my training schedule on it. Now if the thing could just push me out the door . . .

*Don’t ask. The Monkey is progressing well and seems to have little fear of the water; sometimes absolutely none at all. The Lamb, meanwhile, is terrified of everything. Oh, for the ability to take the sum of their fear and divide by two! Her next memory verse will definitely be Joshua 1:9: Be strong and courageous . . . In the next cycle of lessons, the Monkey will remain in the group setting, but the Lamb will move to private lessons. Their not learning to swim is not an option.

**Something else on the new phone. I’m withholding reviews until later.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 7:58 am

    so it’s not normal to fall right back into rem? i think i do that a lot… maybe my troubles are a combination of sleep & food deprivation. hope you are getting plenty of rest and good food this weekend! sounds like you got an rss thing worked out – hope so anyway?

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    August 1, 2009 11:15 am

    So far the new feeder on the iphone is working great . . . now if I can just get past the snob prejudice of being one of “those people” who’s reading on her phone. And getting to bed at 9 instead of 10! Then, rising at 4:30, I’m still getting a near-human amount of sleep. I’ll test it tonight, when I have an evening long run scheduled–sometime between 5 and 7. We’ll see how long it takes the adrenaline to go down before bedtime. Wish me luck!

  3. August 1, 2009 11:54 am

    What a hectic week – and life! I enjoy your stories — we can all relate.

    Keep up the good work.

  4. the Ringmaster permalink*
    August 1, 2009 3:06 pm

    Oh, Susan, I’m glad you enjoy the stories. Sometimes I can picture you all just rolling your eyes. But this is the kind of stuff we all deal with, isn’t it? Running while juggling the rest of our lives? I know it is for you; I’m always amazed by running moms who run–or is that working moms who run?

    Sometimes I think the real accomplishment isn’t the PRs–it’s the juggling that got me to the finish line.

Leave a Reply

