Skip to content

Isn’t it Ironic?

August 10, 2009

And, please note, it’s the second time it’s happened to me.

I’m running today–miserable. Mile repeats. Tough, probably because of the race on Thursday and the tough 12-miler in 92-degree heat index on Saturday afternoon (oh, I didn’t tell you about that?).

So, I’m wiped, even during my cooldown. I stop about halfway through it and decide, I don’t need all the water in my 10-ounce Sprint bottle. I’ll just pour a little over my head to cool off. Yum. Much better.

As I’m closing my bottle, I’m getting wet again. Think, Huh, that must be from the spout closing. Only the drops are coming from the wrong direction.

No, it’s rain. Yes, it started raining. Just as I decided to wet my head. Mind you, it’s perfectly clear. I can pick out constellations in the cloudless sky.

But, there you go.

Just like during the marathon, when I decided to pour water over my head at mile 20, just to have the sky open at mile 22.

Ironic.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2009 5:08 pm

    maybe you should dribble a little on yourself a lot sooner! then perhaps the rain will come sooner and keep you cool at least 🙂

    the heat is tough enough on an easy day, don’t feel bad if you pull back on a hard day!

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    August 13, 2009 12:18 pm

    Now there’s a thought! This rain was nice too–just a cooling sprinkle–perfect!

Leave a Reply

