Skip to content

Time Off

August 14, 2009

It’s the left knee again. Little G and I were running together on Wednesday–talking about something that made us really animated. So we’re running about 8:30 pace, perfect tempo pace for us. And then, around mile 2, I just felt it–my knee suddenly didn’t land right. It hurt for a few strides before we stopped; I walked for a couple of minutes and we set out again, slowing down to about a nine-minute mile. But about a mile and a half later the pain was back–I took another walk break and we slowed down even further, to 9:30 pace, so now we’ve shelved the tempo completely and are down to easy pace. We still finished out the intended 8, though.

I came in, took ibuprofen, and got ice on the knee. I took yesterday off. There’ll be no long run tomorrow since it’s time to sign up the animals for swimming lessons again and I have a commitment to keep in the evening. I thought about going out to try out a few miles this morning, but I had to wonder what that would accomplish in the long run?

Though I hate not running, I decided to take today off too. I hate the three missed days in a row, and my mileage is shot for the week, but I’d rather do it now than closer to race day.

In the meantime, I’m wondering about how to avoid the knee pain in the future. Are the barefoot runners right? Are my stability shoes getting in the way of my running and hurting me rather than helping me?

Sunday will see me out bright and early, setting out at an easy pace to see how the knee feels. We’ll hope for a happy, pain-free run.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 9:58 am

    Man, that stinks. You may remember my horrible knee incident at Gasparilla. That was some serious pain. I am so sorry, Sweetie.

    I am suffering another serious pain at the moment. I nearly was hit by a car about two weeks ago while riding my my bike and I crashed my bike. I have severely bruised ribs and I haven’t run for two weeks. It’s been awful. I hate not being able to run. Apparently, bruised ribs take at least 4 weeks to heal. 😦

    You can read about my crash here.

    http://deniseisrundmt.com/2009/07/31/bruised-body-and-spirit/

  2. Brad permalink
    August 15, 2009 10:12 pm

    hope you feel better!!!!

  3. August 16, 2009 8:56 pm

    very wise to take an extra day or two off and actually put the “better now than race day” theory to work. it definitely stinks to miss a few days but it’s worse to miss months! hope you can figure out what’s ailing your knee so you can prevent it from keeping you out of your shoes.

  4. August 17, 2009 8:59 pm

    You’re doing the right thing, but it is hard not to run, isn’t it?

    How’s the mileage on your shoes? If I put too many miles on mine, my knee lets me know. Most folks say 300-500 miles depending on one’s weight (the less you weigh, the longer your shoes **might** last). I’ve found that the Etonic Jepara SC that I’ve used over the last 2+ years will actually last me longer even though I’m not a light runner. I’ve always gotten 600+ miles out of a pair — the last 2 pair were 700 and 800 respectively.

  5. the Ringmaster permalink*
    August 19, 2009 8:23 am

    Thank you all for your encouragement! It helps so much to hear better runners tell me I’m doing the right thing. Bob, I can’t believe how much mileage you get out of your shoes. I don’t believe I’ve ever gotten more than 300 miles out of one pair–I usually start reserving them for shorter runs right around mile 250. It’s what’s bothering me about this knee pain this time around–both pairs of shoes I’m rotating are under 200 mi. And I’m 5 foot, 110 pounds! But yeah, if it keeps up, I’m getting different shoes, anyway.

    Lindsay, I’m definitely doing everything I can to stay “in my shoes!” 🙂 It’s hard not to run–I took today off too–but you’re right; better a few days than weeks or months, and better closer to the beginning of the season than the end of it.

Leave a Reply

