Skip to content

Get Well Soon, Training Partner

September 2, 2009

After dying on the run on Saturday, Garmie remained dead all weekend. I called Garmie tech support as soon as I was able on Monday and spoke to Matt. He theorized that perhaps the battery had died because Garmie did not connect to the cradle very well anymore. We tested this theory by tying a ponytail holder to Garmie while he sat in his cradle, connected to my computer.

Garmie thought for a minute, then displayed the message “Battery Charge in Progress.” Excellent! Matt gave me the  part number for the new cradle, and I was in business. I watched his screen like a nervous mother with a child on an iv until the display changed to “Battery Charge Complete.” I then properly unplugged him and waited for my Tuesday morning run.

At which time he promptly refused to turn on.

Tuesday afternoon saw me speaking with Wayne at Tech Support. I explained everything that had elapsed to date. He was very apologetic for my misfortune with their product, and, though Garmie is about 22 months old and well out of the warranty period, he said he’d get him all fixed up for no charge. He got me a work order set up, gave me instructions for mailing him to Olathe, KS, and told me he would need to be away for 10 to 14 days. What I’d get back, he warned me, would probably be a refurbished 205, but, he assured me, “It’ll work.”

Garmie shipped out today, appropriately protected and insured, after being rotundly kissed by his mother/training partner. The postal clerk thought I was a little odd, I’m sure, but that little guy has seen me through much, and I will miss him . . .

. . . but I need someone to pace me on my runs.

Godspeed, Garmie, and get well soon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2009 12:45 pm

    …but I need someone to pace me on my runs. You’ll just have to revert to ice-age techniques — pacing by glancing at a “regular” watch every 0.5-1.0 miles. 🙂 It’s not easy to pace that way. Maybe you can just enjoy running for 10-14 days without worrying about pace. You might be surprised how you do.

  2. September 3, 2009 7:05 pm

    lol. good luck, old friend garmie! may you find a new life and happiness back at the garmin center. i’m sure your new 205 will work wonderfully, maybe he/she will be an even faster training partner to entice you along 🙂

  3. Brad permalink
    September 4, 2009 9:44 am

    I tend to run better when I don’t “pace” myself….As Bob said, you will be suprised with ur results….

  4. the Ringmaster permalink*
    September 4, 2009 11:11 am

    Yes, running by feel does have its advantages, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

