Skip to content

Full Disclosure

October 1, 2009

I probably won’t knock 12 minutes off my time at the half this time around.

Last year, I was racing the distance for the first time, really, since I always run my first race at a distance with the firm first goal of finishing well. But, that second time around, I was hungry for a personal best, and I knocked a lot of time off–almost a minute per mile. It didn’t hurt that the weather was perfect on race day, either, or that I’d had a long, injury-free training season, full of high-quality mileage, with lots of speedwork and longer long runs than ever before.

This time around? Not so much. Since July, when I started ramping up my mileage with an eye toward the Women’s Half in November, I’ve had some good-quality weeks, but I’ve had lots of mixed results in there too, weeks where my knee was sore, or I didn’t follow the schedule, or I just plain wasn’t feeling the run. As a result, I’m woefully undertrained, supposed to be targeting 8:10 for my tempo runs but knowing full well that even last year’s pace of 8:25 is a stretch.

I’m confident in my own sense of racing and pushing. I run 12 and 14 miles often enough that I know the distance well, and feel like I can strategize at it, run it well enough to come in under two hours, even if the race were held next week. But under 1:50? That might be hard to come by.

The race is not, of course, next week. It’s on November 22, and I still have a few weeks of tempo and long runs to salvage some fitness.

What is next week is the Worldwide Festival of Races. I’m planning to run the 13.1 on Saturday; the race comes at a great time for me to gauge my speed and endurance. When I ran the race last year my time was 1:55, so I knew I was on track to finish sub-2, and it was a real confidence boost. We’ll see what happens this year.

Hey, if it fits into your plans, why not join the Festival of Races? Check out the site, log on and register for one of the races–5k, 10k, or half marathon–and then run it on your own course. Come back when you’re done and upload your time and a brief race report. It’s uplifting to run a virtual race like this one–to know that all over the world, in some 40 countries, close to 1000 other people are doing just what you’re doing. Think global, run local!

One Comment leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:57 am

    You are a runner. An awesome, awesome runner.

Leave a Reply

