Skip to content

Yasso’s 800s

October 19, 2009

I’ve read about these intervals in Runner’s World before, and decided to try them for the first time today. Of course I also wanted to get in a decent mileage, so I set myself up for a pretty tough workout.

The goal if Yasso’s 800s is to run 800 meters in the same minutes and seconds as the number of hours and minutes you hope to run your marathon.

I set out to run my 800s in 4 minutes flat, though I know a four-hour marathon is probably going to be a stretch. I set out for eight repeats with a mile and a half warm-up and cool-down so I could get in eight miles. Yes, I’m insane.

The workout itself wasn’t so tough–it basically worked out, for me, into half-mile repeats at 10k pace. But doing so many repeats just wore me out; in fact, I thought repeat 7 was my last one and when I realized I had another I almost cried. But conditions were in my favor: temps today, after our first cold front of the season finally came through, were much lower than last week–I ran today in a glorious 55-degree day, though it was windy in my homecoming repeats as my times showed.

I hit my paces pretty well. My times:

3:56.53, 3:56.34, 3:58.35, 3:54.09, 4:00.82, 4:04.83, 3:54.08, 3:50.23.

You can see repeats 5 and 6 were into the wind, and I made the conscious decision to run by effort and not by time. Would have done the same thing for 7 except I’d lost count by that point and really thought that was the last one–oh well.

Ran 18 miles on Saturday in almost three hours–fairly slow but literally everything that could go wrong did, including a pretty prodigious nosebleed at about mile 15. I also went over the bridge four times, which slowed down those miles. I’m glad I put the miles in, though I do wish I’d gotten an ice bath after–what with the nose bleed and trying to fix my fuel belt for the first six miles*, I had to rush to get to the Lamb’s soccer game and had to skip the ice.

Still stubbornly training for a February marathon, as you can see, and for a half PR.

There’s a 5k this weekend, too.

What, you thought I was gonna quit this running thing? Whose blog do you think this is?

*I got a new fuel belt from Nathan a few weeks ago to try to carry all my gels for the marathon. I like it a lot. It’s roomy and reflective and will be perfect for the Sunset to Sunrise Relay if we do end up running it. Unfortunately, it will not stay put! Both long runs I’ve tried it on, it takes me the first hour of the run to play with it–this time it literally drove me to tears because I had stopped so many times to fiddle with it that I was frustrated I couldn’t get into a rhythm. I’m not sure if it’s finally getting sweaty that does it or what. I plan to wear it on an easy run this week to see what’s up. If it’s sweat that does it I’ll try just wetting it pre-run.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 8:55 pm

    Good workout. 800m repeats are tough, especially when you do 8 of them. I have trouble with my Nathan water belt, too. Mine has the single 22 oz bottle that’s supposed to stay right in the small of my back. It’s forever twisting left on me. I’ve found that snugging the belt helps — as tight as is comfortable.

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    October 21, 2009 3:27 pm

    Oh, I was so sore and tired the next day–almost useless for even an easy run. Yes, 8 repeats was a lot! Thanks for the suggestion on the belt–I’ll let you know if I can get it snug enough without cutting off my circulation!

  3. October 21, 2009 6:48 pm

    nice job on the 800’s! you know, i think they say to start out with a few (like 3 or 4?) and build UP to 8 or 10. you nutso 😉 too hardcore! so, doubly excellent job!

  4. run4change permalink
    October 21, 2009 11:28 pm

    Nathan makes the best stuff. I use their water bottles with the pockets for my marathons and ultras. Great job on the 800’s. I related very closely to your desire to cry when you realized you had one more rep. Speedwork is tough. It builds character. It builds speed. And it builds tears. HAHAHAHA Great job. I also did some speedwork today and my legs were rubber when I was finished (with the first rep) 🙂

  5. run4change permalink
    October 21, 2009 11:30 pm

    I forgot to mention that my nathans are the hand-held type. When a lot of fatigue set in, I found that this was better for me for the longer runs/races because the belt would constrict my free motion of the lungs and give me blisters.

  6. the Ringmaster permalink*
    October 23, 2009 11:40 am

    Thanks for the encouragement! Lindsay, I don’t know why I went for 8 repeats. Yes, the stubborness rears its ugly head again. You’d think I’d know better by now, huh? Jason, I have one of the handheld bottles I use for my summertime runs when the heat starts to rise here. This belt is just a pocket–it would just be big enough to carry a few gels, some single-use BodyGlide, a couple bandaids and extra ponytails. Just enough to get me through the race. No water, because I use whatever the race gives me. So far. 🙂

Leave a Reply

