Skip to content

Weak Summary

November 9, 2009

No, that’s not a typo from the English teacher. It really was weak.

Did my 9 miles of intervals on Monday and was really tired for my 6 on Tuesday. Didn’t run on Wednesday because I was still feeling so tired–and having a sick kid at home didn’t help, either. On Thursday I decided to try to make up the missed miles from Wednesday, but the weather was uncooperative in the early-morning hours and I didn’t get out until close to 10. Though it was windy, the heat was palpable and the 10 miles felt interminably long. On Friday I ran 5 with Little G, thankful for every step of her company.

That left me with a long run Saturday–I had 14 miles on the schedule. But I knew, even running those 5 on Friday, that my legs were way too tired for someone who was 8 days out from her target half marathon–her one chance during the year to set a personal best.

So I slept in Saturday, and logged no miles this weekend. It was a calculated decision, based on all the information I have. Rest cannot hurt me now. More running might.

Last year, a mini-taper the week before the race seemed to work, so I’ll be doing it again this year. The plan: 4 miles today, off tomorrow, 4 miles Wednesday, 6 tempo miles Thursday, off Friday and Saturday, race Sunday. I picked up my race packet Saturday and started getting that great pre-race excitement. I’m hoping I get to the place where I can enjoy the race, even if it starts unraveling right from the beginning. I’m already thinking if I miss my PR I can fit in another try at the Marathon of the Palm Beaches in early December.

Weekly Summary:
Sunday: SRD
Monday: I 9 mi in 1:30–8x½mi @ 8:00, 7:45, 7:30, 7:15 and back; 1½ warm-up and cool-down.
Tuesday: E 6 in 56:36 (9:27)
Wednesday: URD
Thursday: E 10 in 1:35 (9:34)
Friday: E 5 in 47:12 (9:12)
Saturday: URD
MPW: 30

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 6:47 am

    30 mpw is nothing shabby! from your writing you made it sound like you took the whole week off, then i see the totals come out to 30 miles! weak? psssh! i understand though – when you had more planned and have to miss a few days, it does feel like you are slacking off big time.

Leave a Reply

