Skip to content

New Year, New Goals

January 4, 2010
tags: ,

Sorry to have missed so much in the last few weeks; I didn’t get a chance to wish everyone in the blogosphere and the run-net community a merry Christmas or a happy 2010. Please accept my belated wishes for a happy and healthy season and a bright and blessed new year.

I’ve been tossing around the end of a new year and the beginning of a new season, both in life and in training.

As I’ve discussed, I didn’t meet my 2009 goals as well or health-fully as I would have liked. But running at the military training center while visiting my parents overseas, I read a sign by the side of the track that said, “Failure is a chance to begin again, more wisely.”

So, away with the failures and disappointments of 2009! Before me stretch 12 months with almost unlimited possibility and potential, and I’m beginning to map out my strategies and goals for 2010.

  1. Above all, continue to run without injury. Be diligent about cross-training, doing yoga at least once a week and some form of leg-strengthening at least three times a week.
  2. Race a marathon for the first time, with the stated, intentional goal of getting closer to 4 hours–I ran my first in 4:30:04.
  3. Lower my half-marathon PR, which currently stands at 1:48:56. Keep working on getting closer to 1:45.
  4. Lower my 5k PR, which currently stands at 23:28, while racing the distance at least four times in the year.
  5. Lower my 10k PR, which is 49:07. Race the distance at least twice in the calendar year.
  6. Balance the training load by maintaining at all times a weekly mileage base of around 30 miles per week, dropping no lower than 20 during particularly busy times and rising above 40 only under the most careful scheduling and balancing of daily mileage.
  7. Run at least 1500 miles during the calendar year.

With these goals in mind, I’m beginning my new routine with leg extensions with ankle weights, until a better way to strengthens my knees presents itself, and Little G, M, and I are enrolling in a weekly yoga class at our local high school. In the meantime, my racing schedule is changing again, but for good and just cause.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 3:20 pm

    Just found your blog today – really looking forward to following you. Sounds like you have some great goals for 2010. Best of luck from Austin,

    Joe

  2. January 5, 2010 9:20 pm

    great list of goals! i like that they are a little more detailed this year – that will hopefully help keep you more focused! good luck, i will be cheering for you thruout!

Leave a Reply

