Skip to content

Shoes, Shoes, and More Shoes

January 4, 2010

Yep, as the Boss can attest, I have a lot of running shoes.*

Seen above, the eight pairs of shoes that saw me through 2009. Last year, I spent $280 on four pairs to cover some 1300 miles; the shoes lasted me an average of 335 miles. This year, it took me six pairs, at $440 total, to cover my near-1600 miles. I got less wear out of the shoes, as they died after an average of 258  miles, with an average economy of 29 cents a mile. Conclusions? I’m becoming more paranoid about my twingy knees and hurry to change shoes at the first sign of pain or soreness; I bought the shoes, as you can see, in sets of two pairs, always two different brands, bought in tandem in the months of January, May, and September.

As the Boss and I make the new year’s budget, I’m actually asking him to set aside enough money for eight pairs for this year, at about $70 a pair. I may not need all eight but if I run a fall marathon (more on that later!), I’d like to have the option of changing my shoes out as often as I did this year.

*All but the last two pairs have now been donated to charity. Though my local running store does not give old shoes to Nike’s track-building program, they do give the shoes away to a homeless shelter, and I’m comfortable with that. Most shoes do have plenty of wear left.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    January 6, 2010 3:51 pm

    I love this post. It is great. I have a mother load of them. I use one and wear the retired ones for my regular shoes.

  2. January 9, 2010 8:42 am

    Interesting post. I think I only ran in 4 pair of shoes in 2009. One of those was an older pair of Brooks ASR’s that I had bought at the end of 2005 and wore only 2-3 times when I ran in snow and slush.

    I seem to always have several pair of running shoes around — a couple of “active” pair, at least one pair that are beyond running but I use for every day wear, and usually a pair for grubbing. Interesting — I’ve never calculated my $/mile. I’ll have to do that and post the results on my blog.

Leave a Reply

