Skip to content

I Remember Fast

February 1, 2010

Well, starting the schedule didn’t go so well . . . as I set out for my planned interval workout yesterday it was raining lightly, and the sky toward the east looked ominous. I headed back inside and briefly considered putting the intervals on the treadmill, but going back to my nice snuggly bed won out. I reasoned I could get the run in in the afternoon, as the forecast was for gray but dry skies and temperatures in the 60s. So as we packed to spend the day at the in-laws, like we do every Sunday, I threw in my running skirt and tank, socks and bra, and Garmie.

But I forgot my running shoes.

Alas, no running yesterday. So today I hit the road, though it was misting again and the sky looked pretty dark. I figured if I got wet, I got wet, and I could always turn around and finish at home.

Amazingly, I got all 6½ miles in dry. This was my 5k-oriented key workout. The goal was to run 5 x 1k @ my target 5k pace.

Hitting the pace after a 1-mile warm-up was actually fairly easy; I could have gone sub-8 but I decided to take the time to practice what the pace felt like and how to hold it. It was tough to do that since I was running by effort against a wicked wind, but I felt pretty good–until that last interval. Number 5 came in quite a bit slower, partly because I started my pickup late (my mind was wandering again), and mostly because I was just very, very tired.

Yoga tonight. I’m considering running again in the morning–when I’m in training I usually just run hard-easy-easy–but with my knees feeling so weak of late there’s a chance I’ll choose to take an easy day instead.

The 12-12 back-to-back runs have been moved to Friday and Saturday, and I definitely plan to take a rest day on Thursday to get ready.

*My interval paces, just FYI: 8:05, 7:57, 7:55, 7:51, 8:01.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Brad permalink
    February 2, 2010 6:36 pm

    great job with the intervals! where do you get your workouts from? I want to add some kind of speed into my weekly running…ive been averaging 3 days a week lately….but I ran 21:59 at race for the cure…my splits were amazing, 704 705 and 706….felt real solid….but that was the fastest I could run….I tried to break 7 after the 1st mile, and could not!!! any advice?

  2. February 3, 2010 1:18 am

    Good intervals. You’re right — it’s easy to run too fast at first, but you did the right thing to stick to your pace on the first 1K. I often find that my next-to-the-last interval is the hardest. At that point, I’m tired and have to really push. The last lap is sometimes faster because, I guess, I’m telling myself that “it’s over after this one.” One trick I use for intervals on a track is to figure out the 100 meter split targets and check at roughly those points. I start at midpoint on the straight-way so that the 100 meter points are relative easy: mid-curve, mid-straight, mid-curve, mid-straight. It makes it a little easier to adjust my pace — usually very slightly since a 1-second change at 100 meters is a 4-second change for 400 meters. If 100 meters is too often for longer intervals like your 1K, then checking every 200 meters would also work.

    Brad, a good introduction to intervals is here: The Runner’s Resource: Intervals. There are several sources for interval plans. I’ve used Runner’s World’s Smart Coach to train for several races and the plan it develops for you includes intervals as well as tempo runs with distances and pace targets. When I set up a plan, instead of using the finishing time of a previous race, I put in the distance of the race for which I’m training and use my goal time.

  3. February 3, 2010 1:20 am

    Looks like the links I used aren’t obvious. Click on “The Runner’s Resource” and “Runner’s World’s Smart Coach” to go to those pages.

  4. February 3, 2010 7:40 pm

    nice job on the intervals! you make it sound easy to find and hold the pace. mine don’t quite go over that way 😉 stinks about forgetting your shoes over the weekend but what can you do.

  5. the Ringmaster permalink*
    February 4, 2010 1:41 pm

    No, there really was nothing I could do, and predictably, I did fill my afternoon with other things. Also, the fact that I was stuck at home without running shoes meant the Boss felt it was okay for him to go and hit tennis with his brother, always a good check of his MS-diminished eyesight. And we found out it’s a little better than the last time he tried, so God meant for me to forget my shoes. 🙂

    Bob’s always good with the resources, Brad–definitely check those out. To answer the question of where I got the idea . . . well, from Runner’s World, actually. I found an old issue with an article entitled, “Be Ready for Any Race in Four Weeks.” The idea is you build a base and then four weeks out from race day you start this race-specific schedule, with distance-specific key workouts. So I really took one speed workout from each of their schedules, since I’m running three races.

    Congrats on your splits, Brad–if you’re doing that well without race-specific speed training, I’d say you’re doing great! I like mile repeats when I’m training for longer distances; when I’m zeroing in on the 5k, I usually run half-mile repeats with a quarter-mile recovery. When in regular training (not time-crunched like I am now) I like to do intervals one week and a tempo run the next week, taking turns. I usually run my tempo runs at whatever goal pace I’m targeting for a half or marathon. You might just do the middle miles at a “comfortably hard” pace–whatever that is for you. So the intervals target raw speed, the tempo some endurance/pacing factors. And you might want to sneak in a mile trial soon. I wonder what your raw mile speed is.

    Bob, thanks for your input. You’re right–the next-to-last repeat is often the hardest for me. In the last one I know I don’t have to save anything, so it doesn’t matter. I generally do my intervals on the road, not the track, and I’m a terrible Garmie-hawk. I wonder if I should set him to beep at me every so often to check my pace then–because as I’ve said before, I often am wildly varying in my pace even in a short interval. Thanks again for checking in. I’ve got 12 tomorrow and 12 on Saturday–let you know how that goes.

Leave a Reply

