Skip to content

Urban Trail Running

February 15, 2010

On the way out the door this morning–in the late morning, thanks to the fact that it’s President’s Day and Dad took the day off–Happy President’s Day, y’all!–I realized that my ipod is at that stage in its little electronic life where it no longer holds a charge. I ran with it for the last two miles of my long run Saturday–ergo, it did not work today.

So, after thinking about it for a minute, I decided to run with my iPhone. I’ve never done it before–when I want music, I just use my ipod–but it seemed like a good day to try since I was also running with my larger pack to practice for race day.

About one half-mile in, I downloaded Run Keeper and started tracking my run not only with Garmie, but also with this GPS-linked application.

I loved it! I got to track not only my pace and mileage, but I also got to take pictures along the way. And, because I had my phone, I felt a sense of security about not getting lost–not that I should have really worried, because these “trails” are a system of dedicated greenways that are never more than a half-mile from a suburban road. And because they’re in the neighborhood where I usually run, I always knew exactly where I was–and how far I was from home.

The sandy, pine-needle covered paths made a great surface for my knees, though the trails were short and required several loops for a short three-mile span. But I would definitely do it again–seeing cardinals and racoon footprints more than makes up for the loopy quality of the run.

Fun times!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 2:45 pm

    Looks like a beautiful place to run. Definitely not like my urban trail runs in Nairobi. I’ll have to post some pictures. Great excuse to take your iPhone — “in case I get lost (in my own neighborhood)”.

    You’re hardcore to download an app and start using it while you’re running.

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    February 15, 2010 5:55 pm

    Yes, that’s me—hardcore. Not “dependent on the phone” like the Boss claims. Thanks, Bob. Yes, please, post picures of your Nairobi runs if you can!

  3. February 16, 2010 10:10 am

    I just got an iPhone but haven’t run with it yet. I don’t normally listen to music but I am interested in using the other capabilities like the GPS mapping and apps to track my running. The reason I haven’t don’t so is that the iPhone seems to bulky for this. I would have to get some sort of holder for sure. How did you carry your iPhone on this run?

    I like your version of Urban Trail Running. I live in a more urban area in Atlanta where I can’t always get to the trails so I started Urban Trail Running on some days. Check it out: http://www.seriousrunning.com/blog/trail-running/urban-trail-running/

  4. the Ringmaster permalink*
    February 16, 2010 2:39 pm

    Chris, I should have titled my post “SUB-Urban Trail Running.” I really like your challenge to true urban trail running–and, as I shared on that page, I’m newly inspired to take on the parking decks. A hill is a hill is a hill–even it if it’s made of concrete! As to what I carry my phone in when I run, stay tuned–I’m planning to answer that in a not-distant post. Thanks for visiting!

  5. GadgetGirl64 permalink
    February 17, 2010 10:51 pm

    I have an inexpensive ($2 a couple of years ago) pouch by Case Logic that hangs around my neck that I bought at Best Buy. I actually tuck it inside my sports bra to keep it from hitting my chest and aggravating me but it works great for me. Its very simply made but works great as the iPhone fits nice and snug inside it. You can see it here – http://www.caselogic.com/pockets_trade_mdash_large/product_detail/index.cfm?modelid=78909

    I actually wear it around my waist when I walk so you could call it dual purpose I guess. Mine has an opening at the center of the lanyard that goes around your neck/waist that snaps apart. Sorry I know that doesn’t make too much sense but I can’t think of how to explain it better. It’s not shown in the photo on the web page so I don’t know if they are still made that way.

Leave a Reply

