Skip to content

Scenes from the Run

March 19, 2010

Ran in the greenway again today. Beautiful! Ran faster than I did on the roads this week, which is just silly but there you are. The 5 miles took an hour since I stopped so often to take pictures, but I couldn’t help myself–it’s beautiful back there! And running in full sunlight on a windy day without thinking about pace or how tired I am or how much I hate the wind was unusual, and sometimes running should just be about enjoying yourself. This was very much that kind of run, and I wanted to enjoy it since my chance to run at 10am will soon be pretty much over since pretty soon (a) it’ll be too hot and (b) I’ll have two little ones on my hands every day.

So I’m enjoying what I have now. This lesson I learned when I didn’t sufficiently appreciate the glory and delight of sunrise runs while I had them, and now I’m back to running in absolute pitch darkness thanks to our time change. In fact, when I set out nowadays, the sky is bereft of even that lightening blueness you get BEFORE dawn. Now it’s the diamond-studded velvet of true night, and I suspect it won’t be long before I’m seeing armadillos, possums, and skunks on my runs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 20, 2010 1:41 pm

    My running friend, this post gave me some chills. Yes I have to agree that getting back down to the root of the appreciation of life that running can bring is so essential. I had a run similar today. I was sunny, beautiful, profoundly “right”, and I just enjoyed being outside moving my limbs.

    Thanks for your post and it was great to see pics of what you get to see while out there.

    jason

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    March 22, 2010 7:22 am

    I’m sunny hearing about your sunny run, J. Yes, it’s good to remember that running isn’t the point . . . but it sure helps! Here’s to more sunny days.

Leave a Reply

