Skip to content

Still at It

September 6, 2010

Marathon training continues, despite the dearth of comments from me. The training schedule was designed with five days of running: three easy days, one day for either speed or hills, and one day for a long run. So far, I’ve hit five days of running most weeks, though some weeks I’ve moved the days around to adjust for schedule shifts or health issues. I’m running most of my easy and speedwork days by myself, while getting to hit most of my long run miles with Little G.

Training is progressing well. First of all, I’m pleased with our mileage progression. We’re increasing our mileage slowly, pushing the long runs a little at a time. We started with 32 miles in week 1, then ran 36 the following week, then 39, then 40. This week, week 5, was a cutback week, and we were back to only 34 miles. We’ll start increasing again steadily this week.

I’m also pleased with our pace. My easy run pace is holding steady at an average of 9:30, and even on long days we’re averaging that pace, which is really satisfying. I’ll admit that on several of those runs I’d have run slower if I hadn’t been with Little G, but when I ran 15 by myself last week, my pace was right on track with that 9:30 pace–even without her to pace me. I’m thrilled that we’re running at that clip in the middle of summer, and am trying not to dream yet of what we can do under racing conditions in late November.

I am beginning to dream of what I might accomplish if I become more daring in my racing. I still dream of completing a Ragnar or similar relay, and I’m planning to complete a 4-race series at Gasparilla next year. While I’m not ready to dream of a triathlon quite yet, I have started reading DC Rainmaker’s blog, and I think you should check it out–even if, like me, you’re not quite ready to try the three-sport challenge quite yet. What makes this an especially good week to try it is that, in addition to being an amazing athlete and a thorough writer, Ray is giving away a 310XT this month! Come on, shouldn’t you go check it out? Head on over to DC Rainmaker and start dreaming with me!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 7:08 am

    Glad training is going well. Wish I had the consistency you had week after week!

  2. the Ringmaster permalink*
    September 8, 2010 9:11 am

    My consistency, your speed. We’d make the ideal runner. Someday, sweet Lindsay, you’ll get your legs back under you, and then we’ll all be chasing you again . . .

Leave a Reply

